We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ outstanding food, + friendly staff, - creepy neighborhood”
Review of Ecco

Ecco
Ranked #276 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chelsea Street
Transit: Maverick T- Stop and Airport T- Stop on Blue Line
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“+ outstanding food, + friendly staff, - creepy neighborhood”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Ecco is a real hidden gem in East Boston, an area you should make sure to head for by car or cab. The food is outstanding and the staff friendly and complaisant.

It is a nice place to celebrate a special occasion or meet friends and family here to grab some drinks or just enjoy the food. If available try their seafood platter that is excellent.

The only downside is the area where the restaurant is located. As said I do not recommend taking public transportation unless you travel in a larger group!

+ Outstanding food,
+ great wine and beer selection,
+ friendly staff,
- creepy neighborhood.

Average entree: $30, credit cards accepted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ecco was recommended to us by our hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the food. We went for a family meal and found the restaurant to be a bit dark, however it would be the perfect atmosphere for a romantic meal. The food was amazing! It is apparent that the chef puts a lot of care into creating a wonderful meal. Everyone loved their food. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluefrogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food, Near Embassy Suites - Logan”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites - Logan. The concierge had recommended Ecco, as it was walking distance. It was a five block walk, a short trip. We were seated immediately. Nice ambiance. The wait staff was very pleasant. My other half ordered a Pinot Noir, and the bar tender followed the waiter; she explained that she had finished the bottle and was opening another when the waitress had taken it. It was a nice touch. It is a creative touch to serve the bread in a cigar box. The butter was excellent with a hint of garlic. The Lobster/Roasted Corn Chowder was excellent as was the flat bread pizza. The pork belly was delicious. The desserts are good. It sure beats room service...unless it is snowing. Worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miamiair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Embassy Suites near Boston Logan Airport while on vacation in Massachusetts. I was tired of trekking into the city center and wanted to eat somewhere close to the hotel. A quick yelp/urbanspoon search showed me Ecco, an Italian restaurant about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The sleek yet inviting atmosphere was second only to the wonderful service. The hostess was incredibly friendly and generous, even giving me a lovely cigar box they cleverly serve homemade bread in after she noticed me admiring it. The food was delicious and I enjoyed hearing the staff speak beautiful Italian to the family sharing a bottle of wine at the table next to mine. I had the lobster ravioli and it was truly divine, rivaling the Italian food I had on Hanover Street in the North End. If you are anywhere near the airport and want a delicious Italian meal or just a martini from their expansive bar, Ecco is your place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

For those staying at the Embassy Suites near the Boston airport it is absolutely worth the walk to ECCO. Just 6 minutes or so up the street lies a truly great dining experience.
For starters the Lobster Chowder was fantastic and they serve a generous portion that is off the charts!
Sarah, who served me, is an absolute delight and the entire staff works very well together.
Catch of the day was haddock with rice and veggies. Priced fairly and so tasty that I just cannot wait to go back.
Worth the trip to Boston in my view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecco also viewed

 

Been to Ecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing