We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempted to keep affordable Boston stay secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abercrombie's Farrington Inn
Ranked #31 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Female traveling alone, plan to stay again. Shared bathroom on third floor, sheets on one of beds threadbare, other sheets fine, single blanket/bed, & one towel, room barebones, but appreciated very reasonable cost, included parking, closeby. City residential, felt busy, safe. A little noisy, but city-normal for setting. Saw four male patrons and one young female, all polite and friendly.
It's clean, clean. I checked all over for evidence of anything but simply a very old place and gets the job done. Staff was friendly at checkin. Thank you for providing this inn for a simple stay at fair cost. I'll be back with my family.
Sent two emails with questions and they were answered in a day or less.

Room Tip: Realized later for less than half more I could have booked a quad and had private bath & still p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DownhillDowntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff here were very helpful on arrival but after that, we never saw them again for the 3 nights of our stay.

The room was very cramped.

what security? We were able to push our door open after we locked the keys in the room. We were on the ground floor and the window didn't seem like it would stop anything from opening it

The location is quite good as it has various restaurants and bars within a 2 min walk and its only a 5 min walk away from the metro system.

Wouldn't really stay here again. We stayed in a hostel in Miami which was far more comfortable, cheaper and was 5 mins walk away from Ocean Drive so the Farmington in doesn't really "raise the bar"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vick s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited this guest house as a solo traveller during a summer travelling break.

The guest house is situated on a welcoming residential street. Great proximity to the Metro system, which is relatively cheap. Boston city centre is very accessible as is nearby Cambridge (for those wishing to see the Harvard University campus).

There was a very welcoming living area - a deer's head was attached to the wall, but rather than being off-putting, gave the impression of a 'lived-in' guest house that actually made it quite appealing. Wi-fi access was good in the living room, but not available in the bedrooms. Some classic American tunes played on a traditional radio in the common area, again adding to the family-run impression. Its quirkiness is demonstrated by the fact that one member of staff described the Farrington as a "sort of hotel/hostel/guest house/B&B-without-the-breakfast". The Farrington is proud to not quite know what it is, which makes it very appealing to solo travellers, families, young, old etc. rather than being exclusive.

The downside was that there were no lockers, and while I was staying there a guest did have some belongings stolen. There was a storage cupboard for luggage that the staff were willing to lock and unlock, but obviously this is not as practical as having individual lockers in the room for small items such as passports.

At $50/night I was impressed with the price. The dorm had a TV and the beds were comfy. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d_griffindor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My friend and I spent three nights at the Farrington Inn; it was reasonably priced for what we paid for! The rooms were basic but everything we needed for a quick weekend break just minutes from the heart of Boston city. As we were tourists the staff at this accommodation gave us great recommendations on where to go by day and where to eat out etc..very friendly and helpful staff :) I would recommend this place to a friend definitely but maybe not to someone a bit older like my parents as it is quite basic, but lovely and clean at the same time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle_cleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Being in Boston Labour day weekend, and not knowing that it's labour day weekend can cause some trouble! Having not booked any hotels as we had pre-arranged accommodation that unfortunately fell through, we went on a search for somewhere to stay. We had stayed in the Farrington Inn in May and thought it was fine. We had to share a bathroom on our first visit but the room was clean and had AC. Labour Day weekend we arrived at the door begging for a room. The owner was very sympathetic and offered us an uncleaned room to shower and freshen up which was very kind of him. We stayed somewhere else that night but stayed there on Sunday 1st Sept. We were given a small apartment style to stay in which was rather grubby which had no AC. We requested to be moved and we got a fabulous room with a television, flowers, sofas and AC. couldn't have been happier with the service or quality with which we received.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aidolynskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hostel was quite difficult to get too, in the end my sisters and I (who I was travellilng with) gave up and got a taxi, being new to Boston and not ever visiting it before and after spending the whole day travelling to get there, I did not have the energy to find trains and switch trains to get to the hostel.
We ended up paying for a taxi which split between us wasnt too bad but obviously the trains would have been cheaper!
The hostel itself is an old house really, its quite big and creepy looking, speaking to other travellers it doesnt have the best reputation, mention of bed bugs and things and thin walls...but I can honestly say I didnt experience any of this? The beds were fine, the room was quite large, we had an en-suite hower and toilet and a small kitchen area with a fridge. We were pleasently surprised. OBviously it is an old house but it had character.
The man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
The next day it wasnt difficult finding our way to the trains to head back to the city centre to experience Boston! A little out the way and near the university buildings but a simple trip really.

I miscalculated our stay and requested we spend another night in the hostel, they were very accomodating and said although they were fully booked would not leave us out in the street. In the end we did leave as originally planned but were very happy that we wouldnt have been without a roof over our heads. I did not have a bad experience here and I would say price wise its good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dustiestjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I have a distinct feeling that this place is run by uptight professors.
You have to ring a bell and then wait a few minutes to get service.
Slow wifi couldn't even open email.
My room have tatami-like beds, but was mostly occupied by korean students that seems to never leave the place. (They are probably the culprits for the congested wifi:))
Paying parking at private space, feels safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
291 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
551 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#81 of 84 in Boston
784 reviews
Downtown
HI Boston
HI Boston
#1 of 30 in Boston
1,039 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercrombie's Farrington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercrombie's Farrington Inn

Address: 23 Farrington Ave, Boston, MA 02134-1704
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $54 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Abercrombie's Farrington Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FARRINGTON - The Boston Hotel Alternative - is a small inn located in Boston right near Commonwealth Avenue and Boston University. We have single rooms, studios, efficiencies, one bedroom apartments, and rooms with kitchenettes. Our rates include parking, WIFI and limited local phone service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Abercrombie's Farrington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercrombie`s Farrington Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing