We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Lancashireuk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2005

This is an excellent Hotel. Very good value for money, excellent position and very efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are smallish but have everything that is needed. Would highly recommend

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank ahowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    384
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
403
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

Great location. Friendly and genuinely helpful staff (made a pot of coffee for our 4 am departure to airport). Rooms were compact but efficient. Parking is off site but rarely need car given proximity of T stop and walking distance to theatre, Fenway, museums, etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fresno5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Quality space, Unbeatable location, Great staff. I stayed 4 nights with my son on a college visit tour, and will stay again when next in Boston. The rooms are small but inviting, and the small number of them (33?) gives the place a very human scale. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

After having travelled for a week in the Cape area, we stayed for 2 nights at the CharlesMark. What a wonderful hotel! Staff is very friendly, and knowledgeable. Rooms are intimate, very clean. We even took pictures of the bathroom for our house renovations! We had been looking for an internet cafe since being downsouth, and it was great to finally have internet. Free local calls is a great idea. Good location to major shopping areas, and top quality restaurants within 200 metres of the front door, close to Boston Common. The only thing is that maybe sound proof class would be a good idea if there are concerts nearby.
Oh, and piping coffee/water for the continental breakfast.
We have already decided to stay at the CharlesMark again and to pass on the name of the hotel to other Boston travellers!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

The Charlesmark is right across from the amazing Boston Public Library (go for lunch and check out the art) on vibrant Copley Square. The staff is charming and very helpful, the rooms are lovely and modern, the price is great, and there is a T stop right across the street. I plan to stay here next time I'm in Boston. They also have fresh fruit and bagels, coffee and tea, a large pitcher of ice water (which we needed in that June heat wave) and a computer you can use right in the lobby that over looks the street. There was construction going on in the front of the building when we were there, but it was not an obstruction to us. The workers were friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treemonkneesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

This was our first trip to Boston. We also booked this hotel on the strength of the great reviews @tripadvisor.com. The location is VERY convenient to everything -- plus a train station stop is right across the street. The decor and attention to detail are excellent! We enjoyed the extras like guidebooks to borrow, free continental breakfast, in-room entertainment system, and internet access. The hotel is also in the process of building what looks to be like a great cocktail/bar area in the front.

My only suggestion is avoid getting a room along the front of the hotel (those that overlook Boylston) if you are a light sleeper. The street noise is loud most of the night. Other than that, this is a great hotel. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dsolan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Had a great stay at the Charlesmark Hotel... friendly staff, free breakfast, ideal location, modern rooms. I was impressed by the uniqueness of the small, hidden hotel in the such a posh, touristy neighborhood. Good deal, I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
655 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#55 of 83 in Boston
2,108 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,128 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,797 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing