We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2005

This hotel has all the bells and whistles from the outside....yes you do have the video player and stereo system, and flash lighting system in each room. The staff are very friendly and breakfast is included in the rate.

But what is fundamentally missing is having a good night's sleep! This is the main point to staying in a hotel!

I was woken up early every morning due to the lack of black out curtains or blinds in the room. The room was on a corner, so had 2 windows so was extremley light despite the normal blinds.

Secondly around 2am every night I was woken by the trash being collected in the alleyway.

The room was also rather small with a shower cubicle (no bath) which smelt of a stagnant fish pond/tank!!

In short, this hotel appears to have all the nice extras, such as free phone calls/internets.....but the fundamental things are missing.

I would not stay here again, depsite the great location. Spend a bit more, and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank njj17677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner / Manager at Charlesmark Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2005
Advice to travellers: Do your due dilligence.

Obviously this person is a light sleeper.

Trash trucks come to pick up trash every night in every alley in the City of Boston. Be aware of this when staying in Boston.

Our showers have 4 types of imported Italian tile. They are beautiful and are professionally cleaned daily.

This room is on the west side of the hotel no morning sun. The claim of sun in their windows makes very little sense. We have excellent blinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    384
    93
    44
    25
See reviews for
65
400
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2005

I stayed at the Charlesmark last May, and again this May. It is a truly terrific place. The rooms are splendid! Beautifully decorated, the decor is all original artwork from local artists. This hotel is very unique, and extremely comfortable. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with tourists inquiries.

I highly recommend this hotel for tourists. For less price than a standard, boring chain, one can stay at a nice hotel with a local flavour.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2005

This hotel offers a decent room at a decent price at a great location, a half-block from Copley Square. I could walk almost anywhere I wanted to go: Boston Commons/Public Garden, Quincy Market, Symphony Hall, Fenway Park, and many of the historic sites. (All right, I walk a lot.) Newbury St. is right around the corner. For bad weather or longer hauls, the Copley T stop is steps away. As for the hotel itself, the staff was friendly and usually helpful, the small lounge was nice, and the modest continental breakfast is a plus. So are free local calls and the CD stereo. One odd touch: a tiny refrigerator kept stocked with bottles of spring water.

Now for the annoyances. Number one: the rooms are TINY. Mine was just about large enough for myself. Also, there wasn't a closet per se; you have to hang jackets, slacks and shirts in a floor-level cabinet space. (Real wood hangers, though.) Coats go on the hook by the door. Heating/Air Conditioning is on the noisy side, though not egregiously so, but setting the control so that you neither freeze nor roast can be tricky. Operating the cable TV can be a problem for the technologically challenged, and the set is at an odd angle, but you should eventually get the hang of it. My biggest gripe is the lighting: besides the nighttable lamps, there was only a none-too-bright floor lamp. One desk guy told me I could have had another lamp shortly before I was going to check out.

Oh, yes, there's a computer and printer in the lounge. But it was virus-ridden and useless when I had to print my return boarding pass. Fortunately there's an internet cafe at 252 Newbury, a couple of blocks away, though it's not open terribly late.

The minuses didn't spoil my sleep; that and the location made this a positive experience for me. On my next trip, though, I will check out other hotels as well as this one.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2005

Stayed here recently for three nights and in short

Bad points: room 606 is small and you will struggle to fit two people and luggage (OK shopping !) in there easily.

Noisy (trash collected every night we were there).

Room was either too hot or too cold, it was difficult to get a happy medium as the aircon was noisy.

The room does not have blackout curtains or blinds.

There is construction at the entrance to the hotel, but we were not disturbed by this.

Good points: Location is excellent with everything you need very close by including some very good restaurants and shopping.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Local calls are free as is internet usage.

Our room was clean and reasonably well equiped (although the TV was in an odd place!)

So would I stay here again ? Probably not, I'd want to give somewhere else a try although I would stay in this area again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner / Manager at Charlesmark Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2005
This is an unfair innaccurate review. This guest and potential future guests should ask direct questions about rooms and locations before they book rooms. Not complain on the internet after therelack of research and due diligence.

Our highly trained staff is taught to describe our 2 room styles accuratly.

Our standard is not large but is beatifully decorated and very stylish. It is aboout 12 x 12 plus the bathroom.

Our queen syle room is larger. About 14 x18 plus the bathroom.

It appears this guest was overly sensitive to noise and should stay outside of major cities.

Every alley in the entire city has trash collection every night. Buyer Beware!

The Air conditioning system is brand new and state of the art. It is not noisy!

We are currently at the completion of a beautiful lounge and patio expansion. The work in no way impacts the hotel guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2005

The Charlesmark deserves five stars for location and maybe two stars for amenities. The rooms are, in a word, small. I overheard the reception staff describing them as 'European style'. I think they should be more honest. The rooms are really pokey.

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay and I couldn't wait to check out and come home. It was our final desination of a two week holiday in New York and New England and by far the most disappointing accommodation. The bed was small, there was no wardrobe, or anywhere to put our suitcase, and the bathroom was tiny. And this was the second room we were offered! The first room we were allocated was all of the above but had no natural light - the only window looked onto a brick wall.

On the plus side, the decor is fresh and modern, and the front desk staff were friendly enough. The location is great - 30 seconds from the T station, which was really handy getting to and from the airport. Breakfast is coffee and bagels, which was nice, but if you want your bagel toasted you have to go two floors down to the basement where you'll find the toaster (annoying). The free internet service didn't work either (very annoying).

In summary, I would recommend the Charlesmark for its location and price, but just be aware of what you're getting. It's not a terribly slick operation and I don't think the customer is always put first. Don't go for a standard room, unless you are travelling by yourself. Couples will definitely need more space.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank modoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner / Manager at Charlesmark Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2005
Our highly trained staff describes our rooms accuratly.

Our designer has been voted best in boston 3 years in a row.
Our rooms are not large but are beautifully decorated and extremly functional.

When making an economical decision to book our stanard room this guest was informed that larger rooms were available at an additional cost.
Please consider this when booking , and not complaining on the internet after your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

We liked the hotel very much and the staff were very friendly. There was construction going on at the entrance when we arrived but I'm sure this will be cleared soon. The rooms were clean and tidy with a good TV/stereo including free video rental. They were, however, a little small for two people and three large bags. Great location with lots of food/bars/attractions in the neighbourhood. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JJWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

This hotel can't be beat for the location and the friendly staff. However, if you are driving to Boston, this may not be the best location for you. There is really no good place to pull over and drop off your luggage. Besides the person at the front desk, there isn't anyone who can come down to help you - no bellman. Getting to the "closest" parking garage is a bit of a hassle as well. Then you have to repeat it all when you leave. Take a taxi or the T! Also, they are in the process of adding a restaurant on the ground floor so be prepared to walk through a bit a construction site on your way in.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CAGAL626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#30 of 83 in Boston
639 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#68 of 83 in Boston
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing