We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

In a good location, friendly staff, and nice rooms. Rooms were very clean comfortable. Perfect for travelers seeking some creature comforts without going overboard. Would definitely recommend to others looking to stay in Boston. Stayed for a couple of days and had no major dramas at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KurtG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    385
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
402
119
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lots of complaints on this site about the size of the rooms. Definitely they are not large, but by European standards (Oslo, Paris, London, even NYC) they are similar unless you are going for the Ritz. The room is arranged very well and is a bit stylish with its grey and red color scheme. The location cannot be matched (unless you spring for the Copley or the Westin), services are nearby and transit is right in front of you. We did not notice any street noise. Choose an upper floor, facing the Boston Public Library. Breakfast is continental, which in the US means carb and sugar loaded, but the bagels are decent and the coffee is too. Someone mentioned this is not an appropriate venue for a business meeting for lack of size. Probably true, but it should not keep the rest of you from giving it a try.

Room Tip: Facing the library, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

What do you expect at this price point? The location could not be better, and the rooms could not be much smaller. Still, this is a busy, fun place to stay, especially if you're planning on using your room only to sleep. I would not recommend the Charlesmark if you need to do a business meeting; your hotel room is out of the question, and the coffee bar is always busy (which is not necessarily a bad thing), but lacks privacy. Still, if you're just looking for a clean, affordable, sort of hip place to stay in the Back Bay, you can't do better than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Charlesmark for 3 nights! As we are 2 college students we wanted something cheap and cheerful!! The Charlesmark was brilliant!! Had great location as you could walk or take the T anywhere in Boston!! Staff were friendly and helpful! Breakfast was included although it was small and basic it kept you going until lunch!! I would definitely stay here again!! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Charlesmark over the July fourth weekend. It’s a fairly average hotel with some location conveniences and definitely less expensive than some other hotels in the area. We would consider staying here again.
Pros:
Very clean room
Less expensive than neighboring hotels that were available
Free wifi
Back Bay area location
Very close to transit station and Back Bay Express bus stop
Two of the front desk staff were very helpful directing us to locations of interest
Small but friendly bar
Walking distance to Fenway
Cons:
We could plainly hear noise from neighboring rooms and especially from above. This includes the maids vacuuming which started about 8am
Very small room
No king size beds available (probably due to the small rooms)
One of the front desk staff lacked any ability in directing us to locations of interest

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was looking for a nice hotel within walking distance to most of the standard sites in Boston for the days leading up to July 4th with a budget of around $200/nite. No mean feat, especially when you've waited to less than a month before to book. I enjoy functional, contemporary design, and this hotel has it in spades. We were in the smallest room style they offer, and although we did have to keep things picked up in order to maintain functionality, we never felt cramped. Rooms were very clean, the funky hallways didn't bother me (and we were carrying two weeks worth of luggage), and, as the other reviews have explained, the location was awesome. The service was very good, providing restaurant recommendations we really enjoyed, and not batting an eye when we came in after the fireworks absolutely sopping wet. (The front desk immediately offering to bring up extra towels to our room.) I didn't feel the elevator speed was a problem (I took a guess that there really couldn't be more than about 40 rooms in the place), and yes, breakfast wasn't anything fancy, but as it was only advertised as continental, I wasn't expecting much. The TV sound being hooked into the stereo was odd, but just turn off the stereo and you can listen to the TV with normal sound. The only thing I felt could be done much better is getting rid of the bar and enlarging the main entrance/check-in area - it seemed we were always having to dodge others when entering/exiting the hotel, but, all in all, this was a very minor negative. If you're looking for the standard, US chain type hotel, this may not be for you, but if you're looking for character and style at a good price, consider the Charlesmark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Charlesmark in June. The first night we were there the smoke detector started chirping in the middle of the night likely a low battery. Needless to say we were up all night. When we discussed this with the desk attendant and her with the manager we didn't receive as much as an I'm sorry. They said there's nothing they could do.

I will tell you that friends of ours stayed at the Seaport and had a similar issue and not only did management make a pointy of apologizing for the problem, they didn't charge them for the room the night of the incident, they were relocated to a suite at no additional charge and candies were provided the following night . I wasn't looking for any of this although a discount of some kind would have been appropriate.

In this particular case, an I'm sorry would have gone a long way.It's obvious to me that this hotel doesn't care about their patrons only the bottom line and for this reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. For the record, this is the only time I've ever complained on line about the service or lack there of I've received

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
643 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
2,099 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,756 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing