We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Boston!”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #62 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Boston!”
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Stayed at the Charlesmark from 9/29 to 10/4, based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor.com. We stayed (2 people) in room 501, "Queen" room on the 5th floor facing the street. We brought earplugs due to some of the reviews below, but I never ended up needing them. Even with the construction going on at the Boston Public Library directly across the street, it was not that noisy. The room was small-ish (like a lot of European hotels), but was totally fine. We had plenty of room to put our clothes on the bookshelves, and store our luggage away in the cabinet. Bed was super comfortable, shower was good. The only small qualm I had was that the room needed more lights/lamps. Location of the hotel was GREAT, and the staff at the Charlesmark were all very nice and helpful, too. Breakfast was fine (fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee, tea, bagels, muffins, donuts), and there are 2 computers in the lounge for guests to use. Housekeeping did a great job of straightening the room everyday, and provided complimentary bottled water in the room each day! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location, Great value
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank auntietat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    383
    92
    44
    24
See reviews for
65
398
118
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Just stayed in the Charlesmark Hotel in Boston, and it was definitely worth it!
Okay, if you are looking for a big room in a chain 13-in-a-dozen hotel room, the charlesmark is not your place to be. If you are however looking for a charming hotel in an excellent location in Boston, this is it!
The rooms are indeed small, but everything is custommade for the room, and you have a good bed, tv, stereo with in bathroom speakers, reading chair, airco and great bathroom with lovely shower. Add 2 free bottles of water daily, a lively hotel bar downstairs (open to public), free wireless internet and 2 computers for use downstairs, and good service to that, and you sort of have the charlesmark!
There is a complimentary brekafast every morning with bagels, doughnuts and muffins and fruit.
The location is execllent: across the street from copley square including T-station, around the corner from newburey street, and amidst all great restaurants, bars and shops from backbay (and copley square and prudential centre).
Only minor side: as said, small rooms, and there is an AC-unit outside the back which you do hear, however, I have to say that I never woke up because of it, I just heard it when I accidentally woke up by something else!
After all, I would definitely recommend the Charlesmark!

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lanneNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is, all in all, a very good choice for the budget-conscious tourist. It is definitely value for money - what you get for the price is an excellent location to base your sightseeing from and comfortable, clean rooms. It seems some rooms are noisy, so my advice is to arrive on or slightly before the check-in time to make sure you're happy with the room they give you. I arrived about 30 mins early, and discovered that the room allocated was on the 1st floor and facing into a tiny yard which was blocked in on all sides by the walls of the surrounding buildings. This yard contained the air conditioning units, so being on the first floor meant very high constant noise levels from the aircon units. I asked to be re-located, and was given a room on the 4th floor which was much much better. To their credit, they swapped our room with no fuss at all. On the other hand, we did specifically ask for a quiet room when we made our booking, so.......

The rooms are comfortable, clean, and small but not too cramped. The ones at the back are rather dark so not particularly inviting in the daytime. I think it's a bit of a misdescription to say the hotel is "boutique" because it certainly doesn't have the style or design of a boutique hotel.

I am surprised by the previous comment that the breakfast is "awesome". Maybe I am used to the breakfasts in European hotels, which usually include hot buffets with sausage, egg, bacon, tomatoes etc. The breakfast here consists of: doughnuts from Dunkin Donuts, bagels from Finagle A Bagel, muffins (didn't see where they were from), and a basket of apples, bananas & oranges. It's okay, but certainly not awesome.

The hotel and the staff are efficient but without charm but, given the price, don't expect anything more. For my three-night stay, I'm pretty sure I made the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed at the Charlesmark Sept 21 and 22, 2008 and it was a wonderful choice. It's location almost across from the T is very convenient. The continental breakfast selection is awesome and easy to serve yourself. The bar is lively and you can entertain yourself peoplewatching from the front tables.
The front desk was extremely helpful. The printer on the hotel guest computer wasn't working and they let me print my boarding passes on their printer. The computers are usually unused and fast. The front desk directed me to the PO, a fax place, called a cab when we departed....going out in the street with a whistle and a flashlight to hail one from the nearby cab stand. The response was instant. They were just super.
While I was there I heard several people come to the desk and 'complain' about the room size. It is small, a bit like a railcar bedroom. But the layout is very convenient. The bathroom is lovely and large. There is plenty of storage space for 2 people. However if you want a large sitting area or something this hotel is not for you. The hotel's public area is very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient and a very comfortable room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at this very nice hotel; a number of individuals complain about the noise; I asked for a room in the back and we heard absolutely no noise. It was hard to believe that one could be in a city and not hear any street noise.

Room size was very acceptable for 2 adults, adequate storage under the bed and for clothes that needed to be on hangers.

Location is fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

There are many fabulous things about this hotel, which I will lay out below. I enjoyed my first stay, a year ago, but my recent stay was sadly clouded by two extremely noisy and sleepless nights.

I was given a standard room at the back of the hotel. You might think that this would be a quiet option (i.e. away from the main, busy street) but it was a bit of a nightmare, for two reasons. First, there's a very noisy vent that blows loudly through the night. With ear plugs, one can just about handle this. But second, at 3.30am every night an extremely loud garbage truck comes by, very slowly, to pick up what sound like glass bottles from the bins behind the restaurants. Yikes. It was really painful being woken up both nights by this crazy, crashing noise (I was in town to give some lectures, and so having sleep interrupted was a real downer).

So you should be aware of this problem. If you are a very heavy sleeper, maybe you'll be fine.

As for the great things, there are many:
*Terrific location
*Stylish design
*Very friendly and helpful staff
*Free wireless, two computers with printer (so you can check-in online for flights and print your boarding pass)
*Very clean and comfortable rooms, with lots of nice touches e.g. free bottled water
*The bar is lively and really a great place to meet friends
*It is decent value for money.

  • Liked — The stylish design
  • Disliked — The noise was awful at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GMY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We just returned from a great vacation in the northeast US and spent three nights in Boston. I struggled with selecting a hotel in Boston as the cost for most of the hotels in the areas was outrageous. A week before leaving, I ran onto the Charlesmark Hotel and after reading the reviews decided to make a reservation. It was a great choice. The room was very comfortable and decorated very uniquely. We loved the bathroom; very nicely done with the stonework and very spacious. The stereo system you can hear even in the bathroom was a great addition. Our evenings in Boston were especially enjoyable by having the pleasure of visiting with the awesome bartender, Vanessa. She was such a joy to visit with while kicking back and having a few drinks ... she's a true keeper Charlesmark!

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable room and friendly bar staff.
  • Disliked — Front desk staff weren't too friendly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dadsnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing