We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a great spot”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #69 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Close to the shops on Newbury Street, across the street from the Boston Public Library, the Charlesmark is a small boutique hotel. Renovated recently, rooms are compact, but well designed and there's lots of storage space. Storage was so good in fact that I left behind 2 favorite articles of clothing; the staff was very responsive and helpful getting them delivered to me. We had a room on the front facing the library but it was quiet. The bar was a pleasant place to sit at the end of the day but some idiosyncracy precluded charging the drink to the room. The only negative about the Charlesmark was the front desk person's lack of knowledge of local geography for some well-known restaurants. I would choose the Charesmark again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMHMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 973 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from Boston and the Charlesmark Hotel in Copley Square. Our Flight was cancelled and we arrived a day late but they never charged us. The staff were always helpful and friendly and the bar was fun to drink in. On returning after a weeks travelling they upgraded us and found us a driver to take us to Logan airport.There was always tea and coffee available and easy access to e-mails and any printing. If you wish to have a view don't stay on the lower floors but I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyb382013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I will definitely stay at this hotel again. The room, although small, was fine for one person, was very comfortable and was fitted with nice amenities. The desk staff were friendly and were extremely helpful to me during my 3-day stay. The location is perfect. I walked and took the subway (located 2 minutes from the front-door) everywhere. I enjoyed the free continental breakfast, available in the lounge every morning and used the PCs with free internet access, also located in the lounge. Of course there was free wifi access in the room, as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librarian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me be clear up front, I will stay here again. Upon arrival the room is clean and well arranged even if very small. Front desk is friendly, check-in was efficient. Short walk to the subway is a plus since you can get anywhere you want in the city with a $17 unlimited one-week pass which works on subways and busses. Take the silver line from the airport for free. Housekeeping was (again) not very good. They made the bed and emptied the trash, but not much else. Didn't even clean out the sink. If you get the double be prepared to be cramped, the entire space is smaller than my living-room. Elevator kept malfunctioning and I had to take the stairs (to the 4th floor) more than once. Nice bar downstairs with pretty good food brought from the restaurant next door. If you want something a little better, you're going to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Wouldn't hurt to ask for a view before you finalize your reservation. Mine was a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in August,really enjoyed it.Very central for where we wanted to go ,across the road from the library which is worth a look.reasonable price..The staff were very helpful and friendly,All and all a good experiance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifelassie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a whirl wind tour of Boston. We walked everywhere and the Charlesmark is in a great location for you to easily walk to pretty much everything you'd want to do (with good walking shoes). We walked to and from a game at Fenway, the South End, North End, Boston Commons, etc. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms and bathrooms with updated modern design albeit small. We loved the bar in the lobby as well. Great Thai food and martinis. The staff are great and helpful. Only negatives would be their breakfasts; not much to offer. Even though they say continental, more than bagels, coffee and juice would be great. We stayed on the 5th floor and the hallway smelled musty when the a/c was off; but the rooms were fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location. Our room was a reasonable size with a sofa as well as a bed. Good sound system and thoughtful addition of a complementary DK Eyewitness Guide to Boston for use while staying there. Our room faced the street, which is busy, but the soundproofing was good and we are accustomed to city noise anyway. But do beware if you are a light sleeper.
Breakfast was included but it was very limited and if you don't like bagels, like me, there was not much choice. However, it is certainly convenient to be able to eat before going out for the day.
A friend had recommended the Back bay area but the location was even better than I expected. One block from beautiful Newbury St, full of restaurants and shops. Easy walk to the Public Gardens and Boston Common, the start of the Freedom Trail. Close to the Prudential Skywalk and across the road from the Boston Public Library - a most beautiful building inside, not to be missed.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#47 of 86 in Boston
686 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 86 in Boston
2,176 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 86 in Boston
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
785 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#74 of 86 in Boston
1,156 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $130 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing