We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #62 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location. Our room was a reasonable size with a sofa as well as a bed. Good sound system and thoughtful addition of a complementary DK Eyewitness Guide to Boston for use while staying there. Our room faced the street, which is busy, but the soundproofing was good and we are accustomed to city noise anyway. But do beware if you are a light sleeper.
Breakfast was included but it was very limited and if you don't like bagels, like me, there was not much choice. However, it is certainly convenient to be able to eat before going out for the day.
A friend had recommended the Back bay area but the location was even better than I expected. One block from beautiful Newbury St, full of restaurants and shops. Easy walk to the Public Gardens and Boston Common, the start of the Freedom Trail. Close to the Prudential Skywalk and across the road from the Boston Public Library - a most beautiful building inside, not to be missed.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    384
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
400
119
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peru
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really liked this hotel, especially for the price. It was a great location, cute place, very nice room and bathroom ( a little on the small side but not a problem) and nice bar. The location and price were the selling point for me, but it was clean, comfortable, quiet (and we were right next to the elevator), comfortable bed, very nice and again, LOCATION! This was my first trip to Boston. I would return and stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel we stayed one night the rate was great compared to everything in the area. They were very friendly the rooms were a little small but it was great we had classical music playing when we arrived which was welcoming it was in the middle of everything stores bus train and of course bars and restaurant we walked to Fenway too which was like 15-20 mins they also have free wifi and breakfast which we didn't get to enjoy. They close the front door to the hotel after midnight and you need your key to open it the only negative is that our room was facing boylston street so in the morning we could hear all the traffic and everything that was going out side but aside from that it was good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nuevamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After our first trip to Boston, we can stay we will never stay anywhere else if we don't have to. We're picky travelers when it comes to staying in nice hotels. The Charlesmark is phenomenal. From their top notch customer service and knowledge of the area and go-to spots.as well as their willingness to help and provide are unrivaled. the rooms were perfectly sized and extremely clean with modern finishes.
the location is perfectly located in Boston. If you're one for eating in quaint interesting restaurants, seeing a show close by or shopping anywhere from moderately to upscale pricing. The Charlesmark hits the spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashleyakinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is located very close to Copley Square and Trinity Church. We also walked to Boston Common and Public Gardens (if you'd like a trip out in the swan boats or a Freedom trail tour). The Prudential Centre is also quite close and the Cheesecake Factory is just a few short blocks away! The rooms, although compact, were well equipped, well air conditioned, and clean. Bagels and drinks (juice, tea, coffee) were provided for breakfast. We managed to get quite a reasonable rate and would return again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2k12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was probably the best location we could have chosen to see Boston, for several reasons.
First, the staff was excellent, especially Andrew who was helpful in making recommendations of places to eat and sight to see (though I pretty well new in advance of the trip what to see). His willingness to help and his attitude were what I'd expect from a luxury hotel. He could teach other customer service people a few things!
The location was great because we were within walking distance of everything - many historic sights to visit very close by and w/in a mile of Fenway Park to the West and a mile of downtown to the East.
Great shopping and restaurants close by also. And T stations were just across the street and on the corner. Would definitely stay here again!
(Rooms are small. Friends traveling with us got the smaller of the rooms we were assigned. Ours was a bit more spacious but none of them are large. We selected this hotel for it's location and were quite pleased overall.)

Room Tip: Don't select the standard size rooms. They are tiny. Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good location. Clean and staff very friendly and helpful. However the room was tiny (it was smaller than our room on a cruise ship) and the bed was very short, 6ft2" and my legs hung off the end. The elevator broke so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs, which is fine, but it was a mission to bring all of our luggage down when we checked out. For the money we spent on this room, I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere a bit more comfortable next time.

Room Tip: Be short, you will fit in the bed comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd_shermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
639 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelPower and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing