We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day stay in Back Bay”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #62 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two day stay in Back Bay”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I came to Boston from New Hampshire in a rented car. The drop off was in Revere. We took the rental service shuttle to Logan to cut some of the cab fare. Cost was $32 but the driver said $30 would do. Paid taxi and went to our very pleasant room at the Charlesmark. One kind of book that works only in the print version is the large coffee table book. Each room has a couple of these heavys that do double duty as decor and pastime giving the impression that you've stepped into somebody's spare but elegant studio apartment. The room colors are monochromatic and sagey. Furnishings are all built-in and classy in that clean architectural way. The hotel is close to the Greenline subway, tourist trolley stop, buses, places to eat, and indoor shopping plus food court at Pru Center (it was 10 degrees the day I was in Boston). The bagels, fruit and coffee were the unfrilly and really good conti breakfast. I liked this place because it felt compact and intimate but airy and sophisticated at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaandbopbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    383
    92
    44
    24
See reviews for
65
398
118
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The satellite tv was out about 90% of the time, wireless Internet did not work in the room, the 2 bars of soap crumbled upon opening and they do not include hair conditioner in the bath products... Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzz524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'm just back from a 3 night stay here and it did not disappoint. from the friendly welcome at check in to a couple of beers in the bar the staff could not be more helpful.
The modern style room was at the back on the top floor, so it was very quiet, although it was a little cold. Mind you it was -10 outside ....and the extra blanket I asked for was enough for me at night.
The location could not be better. Directly opposite the public litany it's a 5 minute walk to the Prudential centre for the shops and 10-15 minutes to Boston Common. Perfect!
Breakfast is a little basic, but good enough to start the day, but there are loads of eating places very close by.
Overall...I would recommend this place and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deucharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Charlesmark is a good choice is in the BackBay area . Rooms are a little small but a good value. The location couldn't be better. Plenty of good restaurants around. Transit stations right across the street. Taxis easily available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zygmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went to Boston for our anniversary. We stayed at Charlesmark and it was a great choice. The area is very nice, everything is so close. The T is right across the hotel (Copley Station). Laura at the front desk was very nice. We got 2 free drinks at the bar for our anniversary, we thought this was a nice touch. The Thai food at the bar was good too. Everyday there was free breakfast, coffee, bagels, fruit, oatmeal, etc. We definitely will stay here again. The location is just great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were in Boston for a couple of days before Christmas and totally happy with our stay at Charlesmark. The location is superb - T metro just a few steps away, walking distance to Copley Square, Newbury St. and other Boston attractions. We hadn't booked so long in advance so most of the rooms within our budget were sold out that we had to choose the standard queen room, which is okay except the bed is a bit small for 2.

We loved the music they put in the room and played it all the time. Even the bathroom has the connected speaker, which is pretty enjoyable and surprised us for a boutique hotel.

2 bottles of water are provided for each room everyday but sometimes they do forget, so remember to ask if you don't see them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My son and I recently stay at The Charlesmark Hotel. The staff was outstandingly accommodating and friendly. The room was spacious, sparkling clean, and modern. The location is superb and in the heart of it all,across from the Prudential Center and within walking distance to The Boston Common, Newbury Street, Copley Place, the Theater District, The Charles River, The South End, and Beacon Hill. The hotel manager, Curt, and lounge manager, Jefferson, go out of their way to make you feel at home. I had the opportunity to meet the owner, Mark, who was extremely personable and welcoming. Hands down, The Charlesmark is the best place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing