We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with excellent staff and awesome owner.”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #69 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Went to the hotel for the Boston Marathon. We enjoyed the boutique hotel with all the amenities which still has the artistic feel of an art gallery. Lovely out door patio in front and clean, modern rooms with fluffy towels and hot showers. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you, Mark.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 971 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Charlesmark is a jewel of a property smack in the heartbeat of the best of Boston. The staff is wonderful - makes you feel like home and the bar area attracts an eclectic group of regulars including politicians making for excellent Boston banter. Good energy!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank Barracuda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you are looking to refer clients to a lovely hotel in a great location you won't go wrong with the Charlesmark.

The rooms are well apponted and reasonably priced!

The lobby bar is a great place to entertain and have fun

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank July19561956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Perfect location in Boston. All the staff was so friendly and wanting to make our stay nice. Continental breakfast was fine. Standard rooms are not large, but this is what we expected in the heart of the city. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmrc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed at Charlesmark for a convention in October 2010. It was a great location (one stop on the T from the convention ctr) and rooms were extremly nice. Yes, the rooms were small, but it felt more like a condo than a hotel room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whodat504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed happily on an upper floor front room for our niece's wedding 18 months ago and loved this hotwl.
Being in Boston to care for very sick relative, we needed peace and quiet as well as a fabulous location. I read another review that challenged the "quiet" promised by the staff, and asked the staff about room 101 being quiet. I was assured that it was very quiet.
When we checked in on a Saturday, we talked to the reception desk staff about our need for quiet and he reassured us that it was very quiet. We checked in and unpacked. The room faces the alley at the allet level and had numerous trash bins (the large rectangular metal ones). I went to the front desk again to ask about trash pickup day. The woman did not know when yhe trash pickup day was, but assured us that 101 was a very quiet room.
No trash pickup on Sunday morning...gloriously quiet, comfortable, more space than we needed. Then, Monday morning, 2am...until 4:30am, the various sanitation companies drove their trucks through the alleys and pickep up, dumped and slammed down the now empty metal bins. This was followed by a delivery truck idling outside those lovely windows, so we left early to catch breakfast near the hospital facility. We asked about the trash pickup and complained about the noise...this gentleman said the pickip was every day.
After following up our cimplaint through managers, we were offered room 103, which has no exterior walls, but is on a short hallway to rooms 101 and 102.
THIS is the room you want for quiet. They not only changed our room, but gave us a 50% refund for the noisy night's stay. Then I left prescription glasses in the nightstand when my husband checked out (I was at the hosp already). Figured it out 2 days later at home and called the hotel. They found it and fedex'd it back to me.

Thanks to Kurt and Scott and the front desk folks for easing the strain of this kind of family visit. We will stay there again because of the excellent response to our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlebit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The beds and pillows were comfortable, the shower is slightly bigger than normal and the spray was perfect. The smaller of the rooms was tight for two people . Location was excellent...parking close by and the T is right there...or you can even walk most everywhere in an hour. Breakfast is fresh... 24 hr. coffee, tea & juice are good. They have fast, free internet and a good sized common work area with two computers and a printer if you need it. The bubbly red head was the most helpful and pleasant staff person I have ever met...which might be why the night person seemed a bit rude. If you're a light sleeper, consider earplugs...doors close a bit loud and sound seems to travel more than usual...garbage trucks can make a lot of noise in the alley; but, I never heard any police sirens. We'll be staying there again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_the_Man_Staziak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#45 of 85 in Boston
682 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#55 of 85 in Boston
2,166 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#74 of 85 in Boston
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 85 in Boston
1,969 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 85 in Boston
780 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $117 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing