We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent even if you don't eat pork”
Review of The Salty Pig

The Salty Pig
Ranked #97 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Description: Located in Back Bay/ South End
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent even if you don't eat pork”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A handful of non pork options, great cheese platters and delicious whipped chicken livers. Some lovely cocktails and great (but noisy) environment. Great fun especially in Sundays when they do red sauce night and everything is Italian.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelled8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    157
    35
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty little place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Conveniently located adjacent to the Back Bay station. Good variety of high end salty piggy food! AWESOME beer menu. Worth a visit for that alone. A little loud when we visited, but tolerable. We all had pizzas - excellent and filling but not overly so. A good balance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank svineviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky Joint w/ Great Beer Menu”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

For some low-brow charcuterie and a craft beer, there's no better place in town. Serving cured meats, cheeses, salads, sandwiches and pizzas, there's pretty much something for everyone. The meats are pretty good and the pizzas are excellent (thin and crispy with fresh ingredients). Avoid the sandwiches... they always disappoint me. Service is mixed. Sometimes you get somebody friendly and attentive. Many times the service was borderline rude and MIA. The bartenders will take good care of you though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great tapas style food with excellent service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our first time here but it will not be our last. We arrived mid afternoon Saturday and were lead through the menu by a very knowledgable waiter. He described the various meats and cheeses and with his advice we ended up with a delicious grazing platter. Other diners were eating pizza which also looked great. A wide selection of specialist beers and a good choice of wine clearly added to the popularity of the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great casual spot for a drink and charcuterie”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was visiting Boston for work and needed an easy spot to grab a bite and have a drink to unwind. The food is excellent and it's fun to choose the different meats, cheeses, and spreads. Excellent place to drop in for a casual bite.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ngianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salty Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Salty Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing