We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grt service & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent service from staff and fantastic location for seeing all of Boston. They are a little out of the way, but provide an excellent shuttle service that will bring you to the Prud. Cnter or Copley Sq area.When you're ready, give BW a call & they will pick you up. Rooms were neat & clean & beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good & saved a hunk of $$ for us. Jenny at the front desk was always friendly & helpful. tip: buy hop on & off bus tour (2 days) online & save yourself some money. Grt way to see Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augie5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear augie5358,

Five stars out of Five--thank you very much! We are so glad we exceeded your expectations. Jennifer is a great meember of the management team and a role model for all of us.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Visiting Boston was part of our four week vacation exploring various cities and regions of the US. When organising our trip back in Australia, we struggled to find somewhere to stay in Boston that wasn't extortionate in their room rate. We were told that September is a month where there is a greater demand for rooms, so hotels were jacking up their prices. We weren't particularly working to a strict budget, but neither did we want to pay the asking price of most other hotels in central Boston. How fortunate we were to discover the Roundhouse!

I like hotels and B&B's that have something a bit different or quirky about them. It just adds to the overall vacation experience. Well, the Roundhouse certainly is round! We stayed for four nights and enjoyed it. The reception staff were most welcoming and helpful. Even the housekeeping staff were lovely whenever we happened to run into them. The room was clean and large, more like a suite, which was wonderful. The quality of the workmanship in some places, however, left a little to be desired. A couple of lamps switches were broken and, if you looked closely, you could see that the tiles above the bathroom basin were out of alignment. But these were minor issues. We kept forgetting to draw management's attention to them during the time of our stay. I'd recommend to management that a thorough spot check of all rooms needs to be done as soon as possible after check out to ensure that everything is in good working order.

The free continental breakfast in the lobby was nothing special, but adequate. We don't eat much for breakfast anyway. The breakfast area is quite small for a hotel of this size. We were fortunate to get a table every morning of our stay. The pastries were either starting to go a bit stale or else they were really poor quality. The coffee was the usual brewed stuff that seems so common in the US. We made do with it, since we always have a black coffee in the morning, but later in the day I found myself craving a really good cappuccino or espresso.

The hotel runs a free shuttle service into the city center, which is about a ten minute drive. The drivers were amiable and helpful. When in the city center we sometimes rang the counter staff to ask when the next shuttle was due to pick us up and bring us back to the hotel. They were always patient and courteous. Contrary to what some other reviewers have said about their own experiences, we found that the greatest asset of this hotel was its staff. Nothing seemed to faze them or was too much bother for them. They were wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Bernard C,

We will take that raise and the great comments! We are glad you left feeling fortunate you chose to stay with us!

We hope to see you again when you plan your holiday!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well priced and comfortable hotel within easy reach by free shuttle of the sights of Boston.
Would avoid walking local area at night as a few unsavory types about. Big liquor store and supermarket about a ten minute walk down the road.
Staff are really nice and helpful.
Free continental breakfast in lobby gets a little crowded but no problem taking your food back to your room.
Rooms are large and very comfortable. Fridge in room which we found to be rare in the economy type hotels in the US.
Jennifer in reception is a credit to the hotel. Great service with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear mhquay,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and gave us 4 out of 5 stars!

Jennifer is a joy to work with and I am glad she gave you great service with a smile!

We hope to see you soon!

Thank you

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on our visit to Boston, the first of many hotels on a trip across country. I was not sure why it is designated as a 'plus' as it has none of the facilities one usually sees with these BW hotels. The reception staff were not particularly welcoming. The breakfast area is tiny and not kept very tidy, there were bins overflowing right next to the tables and the food was poor. The room was comfortable and clean but a little dark and shabby. A shuttle service is available to drop people off at the nearest metro stop and pick up on a first come, first served basis which is useful. However we found it a bit variable. One morning we wanted to use the service we were told the driver would pick us up in 20 minutes. That turned into an hour so we had to cut a planned visit into the city short. When the driver finally turned up he was abrupt and made us feel we were really putting him out. We really didn't feel this hotel offered a satisfactory service overall and wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If you would like to speak with me personally so I may try to make ammends you may call 617-989-1000 or email me at rhgm@wnwhospitality.com.

Thank you
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Convenient to Back Bay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. We would have preferred to have had more comfortable seating - but overall that was minor. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Steve K,

Thank you for four out of five stars! I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your recommendations of our property!

See you soon!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you want a good place to be able to stay and visit Boston this is it. They will shuttle you to lots of places. They offer a free continental breakfast with a waffle maker to have fresh waffles. They have a very nice fitness area that was great to work out on, they have free wireless high speed internet

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Keith M,

5 out of 5 stars! That is what the team and I strive for! We work hard to provide excellent guest service. It is not easy working here and smelling the fresh waffles daily so I am glad you enjoyed!

Thank you for saying we are "the best place to stay"....and we hope to see you soon!

Thank you
Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is housed in a fairly unique circular building, which gives it some charm. It's also easy to spot although I did not find the overflow car park immediately and instead parked next to eh gas station.

Check in was okay, we arrived during a staff shift change and possibly slightly before check in... so there weren't an abundance of smiles from behind the desk.

Nevertheless we were given our key and directions to our room. The room itself was good, bathroom, kitchenette and sofa area, and then two queen beds beyond. The room was well appointed, albeit starting to show its age around the edges.

We used the shuttle service once, which was very handy. We rang reception and was told it was due in 20 minutes time. We duly went down after 20 minutes and got taken downtown... very handy!

On our second day there was a large crowd waiting for the shuttle so we decided to walk downtown instead. It only took about 20 minutes and the neighbourhoods are not unpleasant to walk through (during the day) On both evenings we caught a taxi back to the hotel.
I would avoid even crossing the street outside the hotel after dark as it's not the most pleasant experience.

In all, a good hotel that has a handy car park, and makes the most of it's location with the shuttle.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a big city, be aware of this before travel as ALL big cities are noisy and cannot be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Rusholme,

Thank you for your frank review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! The shuttle is a great convenience and you are correct with your tips that we are located in a larger city.

I appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey and we hope to see you again1

Thank you
Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,814 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
551 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $94 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing