We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why a Best Western Plus?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Why a Best Western Plus?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on our visit to Boston, the first of many hotels on a trip across country. I was not sure why it is designated as a 'plus' as it has none of the facilities one usually sees with these BW hotels. The reception staff were not particularly welcoming. The breakfast area is tiny and not kept very tidy, there were bins overflowing right next to the tables and the food was poor. The room was comfortable and clean but a little dark and shabby. A shuttle service is available to drop people off at the nearest metro stop and pick up on a first come, first served basis which is useful. However we found it a bit variable. One morning we wanted to use the service we were told the driver would pick us up in 20 minutes. That turned into an hour so we had to cut a planned visit into the city short. When the driver finally turned up he was abrupt and made us feel we were really putting him out. We really didn't feel this hotel offered a satisfactory service overall and wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If you would like to speak with me personally so I may try to make ammends you may call 617-989-1000 or email me at rhgm@wnwhospitality.com.

Thank you
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    458
    216
    112
    60
See reviews for
410
265
36
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Convenient to Back Bay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. We would have preferred to have had more comfortable seating - but overall that was minor. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Steve K,

Thank you for four out of five stars! I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your recommendations of our property!

See you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you want a good place to be able to stay and visit Boston this is it. They will shuttle you to lots of places. They offer a free continental breakfast with a waffle maker to have fresh waffles. They have a very nice fitness area that was great to work out on, they have free wireless high speed internet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Keith M,

5 out of 5 stars! That is what the team and I strive for! We work hard to provide excellent guest service. It is not easy working here and smelling the fresh waffles daily so I am glad you enjoyed!

Thank you for saying we are "the best place to stay"....and we hope to see you soon!

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is housed in a fairly unique circular building, which gives it some charm. It's also easy to spot although I did not find the overflow car park immediately and instead parked next to eh gas station.

Check in was okay, we arrived during a staff shift change and possibly slightly before check in... so there weren't an abundance of smiles from behind the desk.

Nevertheless we were given our key and directions to our room. The room itself was good, bathroom, kitchenette and sofa area, and then two queen beds beyond. The room was well appointed, albeit starting to show its age around the edges.

We used the shuttle service once, which was very handy. We rang reception and was told it was due in 20 minutes time. We duly went down after 20 minutes and got taken downtown... very handy!

On our second day there was a large crowd waiting for the shuttle so we decided to walk downtown instead. It only took about 20 minutes and the neighbourhoods are not unpleasant to walk through (during the day) On both evenings we caught a taxi back to the hotel.
I would avoid even crossing the street outside the hotel after dark as it's not the most pleasant experience.

In all, a good hotel that has a handy car park, and makes the most of it's location with the shuttle.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a big city, be aware of this before travel as ALL big cities are noisy and cannot be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rusholme,

Thank you for your frank review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! The shuttle is a great convenience and you are correct with your tips that we are located in a larger city.

I appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey and we hope to see you again1

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms very spacious, with all you would need. The complimentary breakfast is also very good. Because the hotel is situated quite far from the tourist sites of Boston, they provide a free shuttle. Be warned though that it only goes a little way from the hotel and you may have to wait 30 mins for it. So if you want to go into downtown, it will only take you to the nearest subway station. Still very useful though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire_Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Cheshire_Cat19,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I am glad you perceived as us a good value. The team and I work hard to provide excellent guest service and I enjoy sharing feedback with them so we can only improve.

We hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently my husband and two friends stayed 3 nights in the Roundhouse, the hotel staff were mixed, Jennifer went out of her way to help but Deloras must have had a bad afternoon the day we arrived as she was not very helpful at all. The hotel is in a unfortunate position as it is a far way out of Boston, but the hotel runs a shuttle that takes you into Boston. The rooms were large with a sitting room, bed room and bathroom, but our room on the third floor was very noisly and not much sleep was had for the three nights. When complained at the front desh about the noise Jennifer could not have been more helpful and as the hotel was full she deducted $100.00 of our account.

Room Tip: The hotel should double glaze the room overlooking the car park and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Lmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 48Lmonty,

Thank you for giving us 4 stars out of 5 considering you did not sleep well. I am fortunate to have Jen on my managment team as she truely cares. Please know that the other agent is no longer with us.

We hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in Boston for a weekend, attending a ballgame and doing the usual tourist stuff. I started researching in June and the prices in the popular areas of town as well as the outskirts were quite high. I found this hotel and got the AAA rate of $173 + tax which we were very pleased with. Especially when you consider parking and breakfast are included. We weren’t too sure of the location, and were a bit skeptical about the shuttle and whether it would be available and dependable. Also in reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about the area.

It turned out fine. The neighbourhood is not perfect but not anything to be concerned about either. Just follow usual safety rules for big cities and be smart. Commercial areas, restaurants etc. just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is located just off of 93 so it was easy getting there from the north anyway.

The shuttle turned out to be reliable, but the front desk was sometimes not clear about how it worked or when it would be arriving. The drivers (Manuel and Enrique) were great. For the Sox game we were dropped off and picked up at the Bank of America at Ipswich and Boylston. It’s an easy 10m walk from there to the park. Only glitch was that the latest it will come pick you up is 10:30 so if the game runs long as it did when we were there, you will have a decision to make: stay to the end of the game or catch the shuttle.

On Saturday we headed to the market so the drop off and pickup point for that was the Back Bay Subway Station. It worked out fine. The front desk just needs to do a better job assuring people that the shuttle service is reliable and more understanding if they get questions when it is running late.

Breakfast was typical buffet style, crowded but there is additional seating downstairs.

We took a room on the top floor (club rooms – join if you aren’t a member). It was a suite with two separate rooms, a microwave and small fridge. The rooms were not large but since it was a suite there was plenty of room. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet so we had a good sleep (we’re not good sleepers). No issue with traffic noise.

Parking was in the open outside around the hotel. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: We took top floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear TrueNorth,

Thank you so much for a honest and frank review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

I appreciate the feedback about the shuttle as I am a new General Manager at this property and having a meeting soon with the drivers and front desk with the goal of improving communication.

Thank you

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing