We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Boston”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently my husband and two friends stayed 3 nights in the Roundhouse, the hotel staff were mixed, Jennifer went out of her way to help but Deloras must have had a bad afternoon the day we arrived as she was not very helpful at all. The hotel is in a unfortunate position as it is a far way out of Boston, but the hotel runs a shuttle that takes you into Boston. The rooms were large with a sitting room, bed room and bathroom, but our room on the third floor was very noisly and not much sleep was had for the three nights. When complained at the front desh about the noise Jennifer could not have been more helpful and as the hotel was full she deducted $100.00 of our account.

Room Tip: The hotel should double glaze the room overlooking the car park and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Lmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 48Lmonty,

Thank you for giving us 4 stars out of 5 considering you did not sleep well. I am fortunate to have Jen on my managment team as she truely cares. Please know that the other agent is no longer with us.

We hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    506
    236
    128
    78
See reviews for
475
294
40
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in Boston for a weekend, attending a ballgame and doing the usual tourist stuff. I started researching in June and the prices in the popular areas of town as well as the outskirts were quite high. I found this hotel and got the AAA rate of $173 + tax which we were very pleased with. Especially when you consider parking and breakfast are included. We weren’t too sure of the location, and were a bit skeptical about the shuttle and whether it would be available and dependable. Also in reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about the area.

It turned out fine. The neighbourhood is not perfect but not anything to be concerned about either. Just follow usual safety rules for big cities and be smart. Commercial areas, restaurants etc. just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is located just off of 93 so it was easy getting there from the north anyway.

The shuttle turned out to be reliable, but the front desk was sometimes not clear about how it worked or when it would be arriving. The drivers (Manuel and Enrique) were great. For the Sox game we were dropped off and picked up at the Bank of America at Ipswich and Boylston. It’s an easy 10m walk from there to the park. Only glitch was that the latest it will come pick you up is 10:30 so if the game runs long as it did when we were there, you will have a decision to make: stay to the end of the game or catch the shuttle.

On Saturday we headed to the market so the drop off and pickup point for that was the Back Bay Subway Station. It worked out fine. The front desk just needs to do a better job assuring people that the shuttle service is reliable and more understanding if they get questions when it is running late.

Breakfast was typical buffet style, crowded but there is additional seating downstairs.

We took a room on the top floor (club rooms – join if you aren’t a member). It was a suite with two separate rooms, a microwave and small fridge. The rooms were not large but since it was a suite there was plenty of room. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet so we had a good sleep (we’re not good sleepers). No issue with traffic noise.

Parking was in the open outside around the hotel. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: We took top floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear TrueNorth,

Thank you so much for a honest and frank review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

I appreciate the feedback about the shuttle as I am a new General Manager at this property and having a meeting soon with the drivers and front desk with the goal of improving communication.

Thank you

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good overall experience. We had a large, comfortable, and clean room. Heater in room worked great. Only complaint (as mentioned to the desk on the way out), the curtains in the room were too sheer thereby not allowing for enough privacy and bringing in too much light (day or night).
No charge for parking was a big plus.
Stayed only one night.

Room Tip: any from street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drowous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear drowus,

Thank you for taking the time for a good review. Behind the drapes are sheers and behind the sheers are black out liners that can be pulled shut to block out the sun. Many guests do not realize.

I agree free parking is major convenience in the city!

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed three nights total at this location. The Hotel is not bad, but is located in a rough neighborhood, as there are Panhandlers and other local "Shady" individuals in the area, however
our car was NOT bothered. The Hotel has only 10 to 15 parking spaces in back for a 6 story hotel, so they are first come first serve. The Hotel Staff were friendly and the morning breakfast
selection was good and well stocked. Appreciated the free shuttle service to the nearest Metro.
stop, and found that the Local City Bus #10 stops right next door to the Hotel, (if you want to
avoid using a Taxi). The Hotel is located off busy Mass. Ave., and there is a Lumber business
and other Industrial businesses nearby, so there was a lot of Trucks, Garbage Trucks, Buses,
and other traffic throughout the Night, and the windows were not that soundproof. Also, there was no shade on window to keep light out. Beds were clean and comfortable, and Sub Shop
across the street had great Pizza and Sandwiches, as I did not feel comfortable walking too much
at night around the Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a Room on the Back side of the Hotel to help with Traffic noise in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Tim B, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed the large comfortable rooms and that we exceeded your expectations!

We do have 16 spaces behind us but you may not be aware we own the parking lot across the street from the hotel which has more parking.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The room accomodations were very nice.... King bed in a separate room with a large flat screen TV. The sitting room had a couch, fridge, microwave, and another large flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable and the cleaning service was excellent. The location of the hotel was, to be honest, rather far away from attractions and eating establishments but the shuttle service was excellent. We used the service more then twice/day and never had to wait more then 10 minutes or so. The drivers were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who will be staying in this area and looking for decent accomodations at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kathy 1127,

Thank you for such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious suites and the complimentary shuttle. Makes it stress-free if you do not have to drive downtown Boston or worry about parking and parking fees!

We appreicate your recomendation and hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is located in some kind of industry area that's include firefighters station and police HQ, that means a lot of noise in the area. Parking is very limited and hotel offers parking lots that located behind him and on the side, those lots don't feels so safe, although nothing happened during my 4 nights stay. Breakfast at the hotel lobby is similar to other hotels. The building is old and you can see it inside the hotel. Getting around Boston by public transportation is a big problem from this hotel, consider the fact that the nearest T station is 20 min' walking. If you visiting with car and taking into consideration hotel's low price he is OK, but if not - it's a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuvalTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear YuvalTalk,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you chose to stay with us and enjoyed our spacious rooms. Please know you can feel comfortable staying with us as we also have Security walking the property.

Hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Cal.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel offer free parking, which is a plus. Downtown hotels charge in excess of $30 per night for parking. The hotel is located slightly further south from majority of attractions in Boston. If you do not have a jam-pack schedule in trying to maximize your time spent in Boston, the shuttle service the hotel offer should work out nicely, even if you do not have a car when staying at this location. The shuttle will take you either to the Red Line (Andrew Station) or the Orange Line (Back Bay Station). From these two lines, you can easily transfer to other subway lines, and get to all parts of the city, even across Charles River to Cambridge). During our four days/ three nights stay, we utilized the shuttle service twice and find it rather convenience to get around town (The streets of Boston are rather confusing, it is best NOT to drive in the city). We called the front desk 15 minutes before we are ready to head out and only sat at the hotel lobby for a slight wait. We called after dinner and were picked up within half an hour by the Prudential Center area. (Just be mindful of not staying out too late, if I remember correctly, the shuttle pick-up stop after 9:30 pm).

The hotel is clean. The suite is roomy with an adjacent sitting area, which has a desk, chair, couch and a sofa. There is a small safe by the sleeping area next to the TV for you to place valuable items. The small kitchenette has a sink, refrigerator and a microwave. Our room is located on the top floor facing the side street, and find it be rather quiet. We like the set-up of having the sink and counter outside, separate from the bathroom and shower.

The continental breakfast offered is average in quality, which includes scrambled egg with ham, waffles, Danish, bagels, breads, yogurt and fruit. Juice, tea and coffee. I find their coffee on the weak side. In addition, the breakfast sitting area is rather small. They have set up several large round tables in a room down at the cellar to accommodate the overflow, but majority of the guests, either chose to wait for an open table at the breakfast area, or take their food and drinks back to their room to consume.

Overall, the hotel is definitely not located at a tourist area. It is in a no frill, industrial area of town, but conveniently accessible to all areas of attractions. We find the customer service provided by the front desk, housekeeping and shuttle drivers to be courteous.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible and away from the side Gas Station. The room number ending with 8, 9, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lani88,

Thank you for such a honest and nice review as I couldn't have said it any better! Our rooms are spacious and many guests enjoy not having to worry about parking or parking fees. Our complimentary shuttle does run to 930pm unless the infamous Red Sox are playing in town!

I am glad you chose to stay with us as I know you have so many choices today as a consumer. We were glad to have you as our guest.

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
485 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing