We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic economical Boston hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic economical Boston hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Boston to watch a ball game at Fenway Park. We stayed 2 Nights at the Best Western Roundhouse hotel and found it to be very accommodating with a free shuttle that drops you a walkable distance from the ballpark ( 7 mins). We felt very safe and there were many people walking together to the game so we followed the crowd with no problem. The front desk and shuttle driver personnel were very service-oriented. The breakfast buffet had a variety of foods to select from and the hotel rooms very large. It isn't the newest hotel but perfectly outfitted with up-to-date TV's (2 in 2 adjoining rooms), microwave, refrigerator, safe, additional bar sink and writing desk. The area around the hotel seems a little dicey but once we were in the hotel, we felt perfectly safe. Our F150 was fine in the parking lot behind the hotel. I definitely would stay at this hotel again. The staff were very memorable...especially Orlando at the front desk and Pablo, the shuttle driver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vttg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Vigg

Thank you for choosing the Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent stay. I also wanted to sincerely Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and compliment the hotel staff and the service. I am glad you enjoyed our very large rooms and that out shuttle service worked out well for you we hope you will come back again


Sincerely,
Sandip B
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    506
    236
    128
    78
See reviews for
475
294
40
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros:

The rooms are really wonderful - the standard suite has 2 beds, a separate seating area and small kitchenette.

The free breakfast is great - everyone was happy.

24 hour coffee = wonderful.

Staff were very helpful.

If you are coming on a short visit, by all means, use this hotel.

Cons:

The location of the hotel is unsavory to say the least. Even the cab drivers pointed out that the neighborhood is one of the worst in the city. Literally there is a methdone clinic 2 blocks down in one direction and a homeless shelter two blocks down in the other. Walking, especially at night, is really not advisable... not that there is much within walking distance.

There are few amenities for entertaining kids during bad weather, especially considering there is not much around.

The shuttle was a huge hassle. The shuttle could fit 14 guests, and there were 93 rooms. Also, the shuttle only makes pre-approed stops. On one occasion the driver dropped us off in the North End, and then no one could come pick us up 2 hours later.

The shuttle is unreliable. I was 30 minutes late for a business meeting because the shuttle did not arrive when scheduled. The front desk did call me a cab and reimburse me though.

The area is extremely noisy. My young child was woken up numerous times by police sirens or construction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60974Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear 60974Kim,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent stay. I also wanted to sincerely Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and compliment the hotel staff and the service.

We're truly sorry to hear about your inconvenience with the shuttle service. Our shuttle route is only two miles within the hotel which includes some of the area hospitals, majority of the underground train stops, a shopping center near by, local restaurants and a Prudential tower which is the heart of Back Bay/Copley Square (Downtown Boston). We do not go to North End which is more like about 5 to 6 miles from the hotel. If one of our shuttle staff brought you there, he may have done so as a gesture but we never go that far, especially due to heavy traffic. This way, we're not making our other guests wait too long, however we understand your frustrations.

As far the neighborhood goes, we're not in downtown but certainly not far from it. There is one of the best hospitals near by and after all, it's a city traffic and unlike the peacefulness in the suburbs. We like our location because it is convenient to majority of the tourist spots and some of the best restaurants in the city. If I was a guest, I would experience the same noise as you did but I hope you underdtand that is something it's beyond our control.

We understand there is nothing we can do about the neighborhood, however to provide the best friendliest service and exceeding the guest expectations are completely within our control. This is why, majority of our guests are the repeat guests. We take pride in our product and the service and it is only my hope, you would give us another chance as well. Please contact me directly when you do so I can personally follow up on your reservation. Once again, thank you sincerely for your feedback. It certainly gave us a few ideas where we could improve too.

Sincerely,
Sandip B
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is an enjoyable hotel. The staff is superb, so friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is a value for Boston. My only issue is the surronding area does not appear to be the safest. But, it is convenient to the hospital area and the hotel provides a shuttle. Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. David L,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to fill out a nice review on Trip Advisors and compliment the hotel staff. We have an overnight security and now that the weather is getting warmer, we're going to improve our exterior appearance by planting flowers and landscaping, however we understand your concern. We truly hope you come back and stay with us again so you can see the improvements. If there is anything I could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Sandip Bhojani
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly and knew the area very well. The shuttle bus around the area was very convenient and the drivers very friendly. Due to the bombings at the Marathon the City was in an uproar and the 7 of us just kept saying we want to get back to the hotel where we felt safe and could talk with other guest. The lobby/breakfast area was very clean and the TV was a great asset there. The hotel made sure there was coffee and cookies available and was very patient and sympathetic to the days events. The hotel was just far enough out to not feel like you were in the city but a walking distance to downtown made it very convenient. Mass. transportation system is great and easy to get around. The area outside the hotel was a little run down and the McDonalds across the street had some strange customers. Inside the hotel we felt safe and protected. If we return to Boston we will stay at the BW Roundhouse again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Gary H,

Thank you so much for your kind words of compliments to the staff and the hotel. Your review has been shared with all of our staff. They're motivated to work even harder now. I'm truly hoping all of us our guests leaves as happy as you did. Our goal at the Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites is to make every guest stay 100% to their satisfactory and I'm thrilled to hear in your case, we were able to do so.

We knew the Marathon tragedy was beyond our control, but what could do to make our guests comfortable within the hotel, was completely within our control. Thank you once again, for choosing the Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent stay. Looking forward to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for the 2013 Boston Marathon. I was super impressed! The staff was awesome, very helpful and friendly. They catered to runners by giving free shuttles to buses the morning of marathon and packed a great breakfast to bring along. They also shuttled spectators as well and had shuttles back to hotel after the event. The rooms were also very nice. There was only two areas for improvement that is out of the hotel's control at this point. The walls were paper thin so you can hear everything, thank goodness the people in the rooms next to us were very quiet. The other thing was it wasn't in the best part of town. But it was only a short shuttle ride to where ever you needed to go which the hotel provides for free. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnS632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ann S,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to fill out the review. We're thrilled to hear you were impressed and overall, you enjoyed your stay. Our focus is to be one of the friendliest hotels in Boston and our goal is for every guest to bring a lots of great memory with them, so they return and recommend us to others. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future. Thank you once again.

Sincerely,
Sandip Bhojani
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Orlando was A great manager whom was always happy to help and has for great suggeations on things to do and places to eat . RThe courtacy shuttle was helpful and prevented a significant amount of driving.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. David P,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback by complimenting Orlando, our Front Desk Supervisor and our shuttle drivers. I'm truly proud to have them working for us. Orlando takes extra effort to give personal attention to our guests and receives several compliments.Our shuttle drivers also put in long hours to take care of our guests.

Your survey has been shared with our staff. We're truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, you will come back and recommend us to others. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Sandip Bhojani
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley,newyork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently went to Boston for a long weekend and to my surprise I found that The Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites was a great place to stay. My nephew lives in Boston and suggested other hotels over on Boylston Place but they were quite pricey. The service was impeccable from check in to check out. Orlando made it a point to see that all our questions about Boston were answered from the Free shuttle service, free car parking with a pass, supplying us with a map to any needs we might have at breakfast. The hotel is easily accessible from I93 or the Mass pike. It is in a more industrial area But the shuttle bus picks you up at the door and takes you many great locations in Boston. I would definitely stay there again and plan to do so again later this year so I can really explore Boston. Debbie

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and faced the side. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandip B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Debbie/Kayakgirl01,

Thank you truly, for taking the time to fill out the review. We're really thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and you took the time to make others aware you will be returning with us as well. We shared your review with rest of our team and they were motivated to work even harder to please others. Thank you again. Look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
General Manager
Best Western plus Roundhouse Suites
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
485 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing