We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Door Lock Breakdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 30, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TERESA K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thanks to all the staff for your professional, yet friendly and helpful service. Great place, good breakfast with variety, and location and excellent shuttle services (Pablo is exceptional). Have stayed here several times and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Easy to find from airport using Hotel's directions. Loads of parking and free! Reception very busy but check in was efficient and staff very welcoming and helpful. Our suite was huge and comfortable although slightly ageing decor. It was wedge shaped but its not everyday that you get to stay in a remodeled (round) gas-holder. Included hot and continental breakfast items: coffee and tea available in lobby 24 hrs and fresh warm cookies appeared at 8pm. Free shuttle was available to several points of interest including subway. Because of heavy traffic it was delayed when we wanted to use it.( Other guests had found it reliable). No restaurant in hotel, but fast food available across the road and there is a convenience store at the gas station next door. Drinks and ice available in lobby. We found the location OK for strolling in the evening. Mass avenue is a pleasant wide street with fine old buildings as well as a large hospital. It felt safe, plenty of people around. Didn't see any shops but there are a few cafes and a 7/11 about a Km away. It was a 10 minute 'brisker' to the subway but we found that the #1 bus comes within 2 blocks of the hotel to and from the Orange Line subway, This enabled a quick restful return to the hotel from downtown. (All included in the one day metro-pass!).
There was some noise from the nearby service yard, but overall it was excellent value for money in Boston, especially the free parking! We had no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms not directly facing service yard may be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service was nice at the4 frontdesk but pretty incompentent.
worst was the constant noise level, it appears to be a truck repair shop next door, that operates 24h all day long, at least we heard them come in and out at 3 am and it never stopped.

Location is good albeit not within walking distance to center

prices appear all over the place, so try to get a steal and check websites

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're truly sorry to hear you did not have a good stay with us due to the outside noise and incompentent front desk service. Due to our city location, some of the outside noise is beyond our control but we will certainly look into it and put in most effort to improve it so we could make it for our future guests.

Your review will only help us improve our service overall so thank you once again. When the future trips bring you back to Boston again, please contact me personally so we could pre block you in a right room. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My room was clean and comfortable and provided what I needed -- a shower, a good sleep, and a quiet place to work. Although the look and feel of the hotel's location aren't spectacular, it was still conveniently located, relatively safe, and really didn't bother me. I wasn't there for the views! While most everything was very good, especially for the affordable price, the staff's service and the hotel amenities were fantastic. I interacted with various people before, during, and after my stay -- from reception (Daniela), housekeeping, and shuttle drivers -- they were all responsive, friendly, helpful and very efficient. The shuttle was very convenient and the complimentary breakfast offered wide and diverse options. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your positive feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us. The Management constantly spends a lot of time, money and effort with the staff to improve our services and we're truly happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your review has been shared with the staff and it will motivate us to make it even better. We truly hope, each and every one of our guests have as memorable experience as you did. When the future trips bring you to Boston again, please come back and stay with us. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Boston hotel was the most affordable and the closest proximity to the city that I could find, and I really searched. For the price, it's good. For the location, it's average. The room was spacious, and housed 4 adults and a baby just fine thanks to the two double beds, a large vanity area outside the bathroom, and a sitting area with a sleeper sofa and overstuffed chair. Good open layout. Plenty of outlets for charging electronics, which came in handy thanks to the 4 iPhones and 3 laptops we had in our group. The interior is clean, but looks older. Somewhat noisy location since it's right on a busy street, across from a large hospital, and a (very cool looking) historic building that may not have the newest insulation. We had a room facing the street, so I think a room on the side or back would be much better. Still, we slept just fine with a set of earplugs.

There is a gas station next door for snacks or bottled drinks, a few cafes and diners within a short walk, and a liquor store with a decent selection and fair prices. South Boston is a very short drive (5 minutes), though parking can be hard to find. Great places to eat: we tried the Beehive, the South End Buttery, and Mike's Diner (featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives!). Our only complaints are the shuttle service: it is not as convenient as advertised. Due to a complication with our rental car situation, we called the hotel to see if the shuttle was available. We were told airport service required 24 hours notice. So, that was a no. There is a large sign boasting the shuttle service perks in the lobby of the hotel, but it was of no help to us. Only other problem was that our room wasn't ready. After arriving 25 minutes before check-in time and being asked to wait that amount of time in the lobby, we returned to the desk and were told the computer needed to "switch over" and asked to wait another 5 minutes. When we finally got our keys and walked up to our room, we found housekeeping blocking off the area. We had to go back downstairs to get a different room assignment. Annoying, but turned out fine in the end. Plenty of free parking space was a plus, as well as an in-room mini refrigerator.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the sides or rear of the hotel for less street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're happy to hear you had a good stay with us, but truly sorry to hear you did not have a great stay with us.

The Airport shuttle service is an outside company. Due to the low cost, and the higher hotel occupancy, they require the guests to book it 24 hours in advance. Our normal check-in time is 3 pm, but there is nothing we haven't done to please our guests as long as we do have clean rooms. Due to our hotel being in the city, we have many sold out nights. You may have arrived when the hotel was sold out on a previous night. We're sorry you had to wait longer than you expected. Regardless, your review has been shared with the staff so we could improve our services. It is only my hope, you will come back and stay with us again when the future trips bring you to Boston. When you do, please call us ahead of time so we could preblock your room.
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us.
Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A group of us went over to stay in Boston for the weekend to race at the Head of the Charles regatta. Cost was the most important thing, so we had 9 of us split between two rooms, but this was not a problem at all. There was plenty of space, and my sofa bed was comfy (once I'd had them bring me a duvet rather than just the sheet that was there when I arrived!).

The free breakfast is a bonus as they are rare in the US. Although it's not massively exciting, it does the job and has a pretty good range. You can even make your own waffles! The dining area is small, but they let us eat in a downstairs conference room which was a good alternative. The evening cookies are also yummy.

The hotel shuttle is also really useful. It only drops and picks up from 3 places, but these are stations that will get you pretty much anywhere else in Boston. It is also walkable from areas like Prudential and Symphony, past the lovely South End houses on Mass Ave. The area gets a little rougher once you're past the Boston Medical Center, but I didn't have a problem with it.
Also, the number 1 bus runs right from the Medical Center all the way to Harvard which is really useful for getting over to the other side of the river, and much quicker than taking lots of different trains, as long as the traffic isn't bad.
It's also nice and close to the airport - a bonus when you're on a morning flight.

It's great value, and I'd recommend it to other groups of friends needing somewhere good value to stay in Boston, but you will need the shuttle, buses or cabs to get to most places!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your review,

Im happy to hear you and your group of family and friends enjoyed your stay with us here at the Roundhouse. Not being centrally located but at only a few miles away from the city is a plus. We offer the shuttle to a couple of places along with the train station to help with traveling into Boston. Very happy to see you enjoyed Boston and hopefully you'll stay with us again when your in our neck of the woods!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
516 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $133 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing