We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value near Boston City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #70 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great value near Boston City Centre”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the back, which was a somewhat industrial area serviced by a Sonoco Station so you could hear the heavy trucks going by. Also by 5AM the garbage truck comes around to begin operations (not the fault of the Hotel) which might bother you if you are a light sleeper. Other than that the room was quite nice, clean and spacious, with 2-double beds, 42" LCD, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, kitchen sink, plus an in-room safe large enough to hold your notebook and small bag. There were also ample towels and toiletries, 3 phones, iron/ board, free parking, free wi-fi, free morning newspaper and a very good free hot and cold breakfast included.

Of course the location was close to downtown and all the area attractions, and Front desk will arrange a free shuttle drop-off for you if you wish (which we didn't take as we had a car). Checking in/ out was quick and the front staff friendly. Great value for the Boston area, and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Wow what a great review,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts from your previous stay. Very happy to hear your room and the amenities were what you expected and you took full advantage off. Next time don't drive and leave it to us, my drivers give an awesome tour while transporting you to your destination!

See you next time,

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    475
    226
    117
    64
See reviews for
430
276
38
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yampalin@aol.com
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Was at this hotel from Sat, May 19 to Mon, May 21. For two nights, the hotel unforunately had problems with its AC system and we had to spend those two nights without air conditioning. We were forced to open the windows to get the cool night air, but then had to suffer the noise caused by passing cars, trucks, airplanes and sirens.

Other than this, the hotel was as expected, since we have been at many other BW hotels. Rooms as always with BW -- very satisfactory, very acceptable. Breakfast included was also as always, sufficient and varied. Rates were reasonable given that the weekend was a graduation weekend for several universities. No complaints other that the AC and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: The hotel is round. Rooms vary in size and configuration, so cannot provide alternatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yampalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts of the Roundhouse Suites,

During your previous stay with us it was unfortunate the hotel's AC system went down, my deepest apologies to you and your guests. Machines sometimes have a mind of their own and I tried my best to have someone in here, but unfortunately the earliest they could make it out here was Monday :-( Situation was resolved immediately and the hotel is nice and cool for your return. Give me a call directly when your planning on returning to Boston!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The area isn't the greatest, but it also isn't that bad. The afternoon cookies were delicious and the free breakfast was good enough. For the price you pay and the free parking, I would definitely recommend. My only complaint is that three different front desk staff members gave us bad information. Bad factual information, that is. It was not a matter of opinion, so because of their errors, it caused much more walking and time, and in one instance did put us in a bad area late at night. So, stick to facts about the area you are in and the transportation required and you will be fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your time and the Trip Advisor Review,

Inaccurate information is not a good thing and I would like to apologize deeply for that error. My Team try their hardest to point out the Best places to visit and greatest restaurants to eat at in Boston. I will urge them to research a little more before recommending an area they're not familiar with. I hope to see you when you return back to Boston, and we'll make sure the suggestions are accurate!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the BW Roundhouse on both the 29th of March and again on the 2nd of May. When you see the neighborhood you kind of wonder but once you step inside, things change. This hotel is spotless. You are greeted by friendly people at the desk and the rooms are perfect. There is no restaurant on the premises but the shuttle driver will take you to one. Enrique, the driver, will give you a list of restaurants in the area to choose from. They do have a free breakfast that is always kept spotless and things are refilled when they get low. We will stay there anytime we are in Boston.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is reserved for Best Western Rewards members. The neighborhood is a bit noisey and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangorvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Oh Wow,

Thank you very much! To be called a hidden Gem is an honor. We take pride in our hotel and love the great responses we receive when guest return home. No matter what the area looks like it's what's inside that will leave a lasting expression. I love the quote..."Never judge a book by it's cover", True indeed!

See you when you return,

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

While traveling north on I-95 we wanted to stop in Boston to do some shopping. We have a dog we take everywhere with us and the roundhouse is pet friendly so we gave it a try.
Clean rooms, secure parking, and a great location outside of downtown. There is a nice bar and grill across mass ave and convenient subway access.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Woof Woof,

Say hello to your four legged friend whom we love so much. Pets are very important to us since they're important to you. Thank you for taking the time to let the World know of a great experience you had while staying at the Roundhouse Suites.

Hope to see you again,

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for five nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived via Logan Airport and it was a very short, easy drive to the hotel. While the location is in an industrial part of Boston, it did not affect our stay at all. There was plenty of easy hotel parking and it was a short walk to the subway stop at Mass Ave (approx 1 mile). The hotel also offers free shuttle to most attractions. As for the room, we opted for a two room suite located on the top floor. It was very nice, although small, but that was expected. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the amenities were great. We appreciated the fridge, microwave and two tv's in-room. All hotel staff were very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this Boston hotel for your stay. Boston is a great city and we enjoyed it's sights and attractions. This hotel will not do you wrong.

Room Tip: Book a suite! It did not cost much more and the extra room was great for three people. Check with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
First off, Thank you very much for taking your time to let Trip Advisor reviewers know about the great experience you had here at the Roundhouse and in Boston.Our guest having a great time along with a comfortable room means we're doing the right thing, so again Thank You for your Trip Advisor review.

See you when you return!

Daniela DePina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We reserved 3 months in advance, the moment we got there, our room was already rented and they wouldn't find us another room. Had to sleep in the car to finally have a smaller room that wasn't suited for us as we were 5 and one of us had to sleep on the ground. Breakfast is terrible and you better be an early bird if you expect to have anything decent to eat. Went to take a walk only to walk into some bands of potheads and homeless aggressive people so the neighbor is not quite the thing. The only nice thing about it was the shuttle which was very convenient and would bring you anywhere for a small tip.

Room Tip: Check for downtown. Might pay a little more but you'll be somewhere lively!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
My deepest apologies to you and your Family,

Here at the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites we strive for guest satisfaction. I would like to look into this matter further to insure it doesn't occur again, would it be possible to give you a call to discuss this matter? Again, with our guest feedbacks like yours, it helps us here at the hotel to make improvements and address any concerns. I would certainly wish you would give us a second chance to prove to you that we are here for you!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
rhgm@wnwhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing