We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$870
Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 7
Expedia.com
$870
Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 7
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
$738
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
650
207
97
73
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
650
207
97
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level avery bar equinox gym artisan bistro luxury hotel in room dining upgraded to a suite turn down service concierge desk per day freedom trail doorman theatre valet mandarin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Easy access to subway ~ 1 block away. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Close to Washington Street shopping, Chinatown and Commons. Bedroom somewhat dark at night; sitting room and bathroom had good lighting. Plenty of electric outlets, mini-frig, sage, gobes, umbrella. NO in Room coffee maker. Room has shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, mouthwash, shaving kit, comb, nail file, toothbrush & paste, cotton balls & swabs, hair dryer,.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MilwaukeeCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrWilliamBunce, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Dear MilwaukeeCraig,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on you recent visit. It is good to know you found our location convenient to much of what Boston has to offer and that your guest room provided many of the amenities one is pleased to find when staying away from home. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope there will be many opportunities to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
William P. Bunce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

I can't think of one bad thing to say about my recent stay. The hotel is lovely, well decorated, comfortable and has a great restaurant attached to it. What really puts this hotel over the top is the staff. Every single person is delightful - the front desk, the concierge, the bell man, the doorman, the bartenders- honestly everyone. It's a great location and when I come back to Boston this will be my first choice for a hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troutgirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrWilliamBunce, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Dear troutgirlCA,
Thank you for providing your comments regarding your recent visit. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our personalized service as provided by our dedicated and welcoming ladies and gentlemen, our comfortable facilities and warm ambiance, and our central and convenient location. We are already looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to your home away from home for your future visits to Boston.
Warmest regards,
William P Bunce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

Room wasn’t bad, although not quite up to size or appointment expectations of a RC. More importantly, execution was off. Wasn’t told of a fee for the gym, although that was kindly refunded. Separately, room service brought the wrong salad, was told a new one would be brought up “right away” and 20 minutes later it showed up. Anyway, nothing horrible, but one generally expects better for the price.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrWilliamBunce, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear Casebas,
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. I am disappointed to learn of your recent experience. It is indeed true that the "little things matter" a great deal in your overall comfort and satisfaction, and although we endeavor with each and every guest to excel in this area, we clearly failed to live up to the expectations you had when choosing to stay with us. For this I sincerely apologize. We certainly hope this does not tarnish your impression of our brand and that there may be an opportunity for us to make amends should you consider staying with us again in the future.
With much appreciation,
William P. Bunce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

BE AWARE of the hotel practice of OVERBOOKING!
We are SPG platinum elite. We arrived at the hotel at 1am and was told our room was overbooked due to "plumbing issue."

The night manager said even though he was aware of the situation at least TWO HOURS prior to our arrival but decided "it would be better to wait and inform us in person" instead of contacting us by email or call, or do anything to minimize our inconvenience. WHY??? He was not apologetic but said it was "on me," and would arrange us to a different hotel nearby. When I inquired further about the location of this hotel, he had to google it and told me it would be 20 min from the hotel in Cambridge. The entire time all other staff were just watching us with pity and no one even offered us a water or anything. Later I found out why!

We had no choice but got into the car they arranged, and checked in another hotel at 2am completely exhausted. Later, I learned from other limo drivers in town that this hotel does this "OVERBOOKING" nearly EVERYDAY! They witnessed some people leaving the hotel late at night CRYING AND BEING DRIVEN 30 MILES cross town sometimes. They said and I quote: "The residence side along with the hotel caters 80% of the cliental to Saudi guests who would pay them so much more money , they literarily don't care about other guests. You are lucky being sent only 6 miles away." It sounds like a tale, but our experience also testify this might be believable!

It appears to us the night manager had to do all the unpleasant work of informing guest in person about the bad news, catching everyone by surprise and sending them away to hotels he does not even know where they are located. The next day, after the damage is done, there would be a "DELIGHTFUL" assistant manager on the phone, name Tamera, super apologetic and would make up for your loss (reading other reviews from tripadvisor and google can confirm this).

In our case, we got our points back and some additional compensation points, which I thought it was totally fair if it was TRULY a rare occasion as she ensured us. But what if those limo drivers were correct? Then it was it sounds to me more like a willful and knowing policy violation of guaranteed rooms for platinum elite, not a negligent handling of the reservations.

Good luck staying at this hotel and try to check in early!

Room tip: No guaranteed room for platinum elite! Be aware!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyliu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrWilliamBunce, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Lucyliu1,
Thank you for taking the time to comment as it pertains to your recent experience at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston.

Please be aware that we have effective measures in place to minimize the need to relocate guests, resulting in truly rare occasions over the course of a year when circumstances, often well beyond our control, come into play. Regardless of rates paid by any of our guests or residents at any given time, it is never our wish to displace or inconvenience any of our guests, especially our highly valued elite members such as yourselves, and I sincerely regret that this occurred.

I am pleased to know that our front of house manager was in touch with you, that your points were returned and that additional points have been deposited into your account as indication of our sincerity. I hope you will consider returning to us for a future visit so that we may demonstrate our dedication to providing you with the gracious and comfortable visit that you were anticipating.

With sincere appreciation,
William P. Bunce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Boston while on a quick business trip. Everything was flawless. From the service, to the room, to the beautiful club (one of the nicest hotel clubs I've ever seen), I was exceptionally pleased with my stay at this beautiful property. This is THE place to stay in Boston.

Room tip: I enjoyed a room with a view of the park, which was great
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travelfam201126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrWilliamBunce, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear travelfam201126,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for commenting on your recent visit. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed a memorable visit in our comfortable rooms and well appointed Club lounge, as well as the personalized service provided by our dedicated ladies and gentlemen. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to your home away from home in Boston!
Warmest regards,
William P. Bunce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews