We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel has very good location close to Boston Common, theatres, Boston Opera House and other local attractions. Very good service,quick check in and check out, friendly staff. We stayed in standard room with club lounge access. The room could be bigger but it was comfortable with big and comfi bed. Bathroom well equipped. I recommend club lounge - very good service, good quality of food and decent selection of drinks - soft and alcohol ones. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    123
    52
    31
    7
See reviews for
172
120
14
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Boston hosts many fine hotels, and travelers have a wide array of choices when visiting this historic city. The Ritz-Carlton, however, is a special place. It isn't just the beautiful rooms, the elegant bar, or the glitzy décor that make The Ritz "The Ritz." It's the staff.

The people who work at The Ritz are happy. They are always smiling and always asking if there is something they can help you with. From chamber maid to concierge, from valet to waitress, they all seem to share a joy of being one's host.

Enough has been said of this fine hotel's dreamy beds and spacious bathrooms. My best memory of The Ritz will be its staff. Well done, I say, to you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montaukrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed three nights in August in a one bedroom suite. Room was well appointed and spacious. Concierge was friendly and helpful while organizing family activities for us. Only tip is to allow plenty of time for valet to bring your car from the garage. Would recommend the Ritz!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrAdvi323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I travel over 100 nights a year for work and stay in the best properties. In Boston, nothing is better than the Ritz. Aside from the recently remodeled building and rooms, the restaurant sports a stunning fireplace and one of the best burgers in town. I'm not sure if the word no has ever come out of the staff's mouth, except when I ask for an upgrade to the concierge lounge.

The location can't be beat. The hotel sits on the beautiful Boston Common, which is steps to Newbury street and Boston's famous Quincy Market.

Finally, if you're a workout buff, the Ritz is connected to the Sports Club LA. In my opinion, Boston's best workout facility.

Note, you don't get the best for a deal, but if you can swing it, it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swcullinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

After being told we were staying in a room with a "wonderful city view" we brought up our own bags (could not find a bellhop to help us) we opened the door to out 9th floor hotel room that was located a few feet above the ventilation system. If we could openthewindow and crane our neck there might be a view. The room was noisy and we preferred to keep the drapes drawn. The furnishings were new and attractive. The bed very comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. We will come back but will be careful in picking out our room. Be sure to book on a higher floor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CaraMHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last December for our anniversary. It's very close to the park and the light display is beautiful and there's a skating rink in the park. The hotel is older and seems in need of some major renovating. The doormen greet you right away by opening the doors for you. Very nice touch. The service is excellent. Our only complaint is that the rooms, at least the upgraded room we had, seemed ordinary. There were two rooms and the bath was huge but nothing very special. The furniture seemed old and worn. We would only go back for the location and if we got a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisenden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has many things going for it. Amazing location, big rooms, comfortable beds in lovely rooms, great staff. My room was on the 9th floor and didn't have much of a view but it was OK. Bathroom was lovely and I really liked having a separate walk in shower. Lovely toiletries. But....no coffee makers in the rooms and coffee at reception not available 24 hours a day. Newspaper only arrived on 2 days out of 4. Checking out at 6am for an early flight I think I woke the receptionist up! Bath menu available - if you have 55 dollars someone will run a bath for you! A nice hotel - just needs a few tweaks to be amazing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SFWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#37 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels.The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing