We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel, great location; close to the Freedom Trail and all other historic places. Great place to start your walks from esp. North End, South Boston, Harbors etc.
The staff is extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racquetman_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 824 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed oh Club Level for three nights before taking a cruise. Was upgraded to a huge suite on Club Level. Too large for only one person....but it was wonderful. All staff were very kind. Club Level was a nice place to relax after shopping and touring. They have only one small restaurant in the hotel and virtually no lobby. Find that at many hotels today. There is a separate bar also. If ever in Boston again I would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodnightirene1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago when I was in Boston for a couple meetings. Stayed on the Club Floor. Lounge was excellently appointed and the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Hotel has the new minimalist decor that Ritz-Carlton is rolling out across the chain. Bar was quiet but agains staff was excellent. Wanted to specifically acknowledge Ryan Pavo, the Concierge, who called me before I arrived at the hotel to help me with some dinner arrangements. Also he gave me some good suggestions of things to do for when I come back with my family in the future. Really impressed with the staff here overall.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 12th floor so you don't have to use the elevator to go to the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I chose the Ritz Carlton for a conference recently held in Boston. It was not my first choice but for some reason, I booked it. Having stayed in grand 5* hotels during most of my travels esp. Dubai, I was a little disappointed when I pulled up at the front of the hotel and I did not see any 'fireworks'. I was even more disappointed as my room had no view! The staff's friendly & helpful disposition as well as the warm, cosy lounge however made up for the initial disappointment that I experienced. 2 members of staff who stood out were Stead and Godwin - both doormen - and their cheery disposition will stay with me for a long time. It's a good find but it is a bit pricey....

Room Tip: The beds and pillows are great! Room service esp clearing afterwards takes a long time. Laundry is 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irrepressible1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I took my two kids to Boston for the Columbus Day weekend and our experience was first class. The Hotel is on a side street off Tremont Street. The valet greeting was energetic and solid and we proceeded inside to check in. Check in was at a desk and chairs which is really my favorite style of check in. It seems more personal and the lady and gentleman who checked us in could not have been more friendly. One nice feature that I had never seen before was in the hallway on our floor, there were single peacock feathers in small sand filled vases all along the hallway attached to the walls on both sides. It was an elegant feature done in a playful way.Our room was an Executive Suite on the 10th floor and the room was perfect. It was spacious with one and a half baths. It had a living area with a couch and chairs with a tv and desk area and the bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed and a tv. I have said this in other reviews of Ritz Carlton properties and it was true of the property in Boston, Ritz really knows how to do bathrooms. Deep soaking bathtub for the kids, seperate shower for me and a water closet with louvred privacy door are all featured in this beautiful space. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. The view out the window of our suite looked out on Boston Common. The quality of the bed and bedding were excellent and I slept extremely comfortably. The doormen were always friendly and polite as we came and went and check out was smooth and problem free. The property was beautiful and the staff were warm and professional. The Ritz Carlton Boston Common was a first class hotel that quite frankly needs to be higher rated here on Tripadvisor among all the other hotels in Boston. It was first class and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying at the Ritz Carlton, Boston, was nothing memorable or worth returning to. Our deluxe room had an awful view. The building across the way seemed like it was army's distance from our room. Seeing other people's underwear hanging to dry made keeping our drapes closed a necessity. When we complained, we were told that our room had one of the better views. Just wish we knew before booking this hotel. The housekeeping was inconsistent. The first night we weren't given slippers and the second night we weren't given water.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's not "grand", but it has an understated elegance that is quite refreshing. Location is hard to beat. The Ritz is central to everything for a touristy Boston adventure. What struck me was how quiet the hotel was while walking down the hallways to my room. The furnishings and color scheme add to the sense of calm. We had a room that overlooked the Common. I spent a lot of time just gazing down at the lovely view. The staff is very friendly. They are solicitous at the appropriate times and appear to take great pride in their work. Yeah, it's pricey, but you do, in this case, get what you pay for. Lunched in the lobby restaurant. Food was outstanding. Room service was delivered on time and was also terrific. The true test- will we return. No question.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,968 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $515 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels. The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing