We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Ritz city property. Service is the standout.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The property is typical city Ritz. Room size adequate, not roomy. A/c is noisy as other reviewer stated. The carpet looked clean but seemed to have that "dusty smell",not so great for allergies. Maybe need different vacuum/bag? The service is stand out! The food at Restaurant excellent. Had breakfast there each morning and one dinner. The grilled pineapple margarita excellent.
Location excellent. Walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 795 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms were average, cookie cutter as it features an uncanny resemblance to The Ritz-Carlton, New York Battery Park. The club concierges at the Club Lounge were chirpy and cordial. I remember Britney, cheerful girl. It amazes me how they manage one evening cocktail session with only 1 person on duty with 8 tables full of guests, ensuring guests' glasses were filled and buffet line full of food.

Staff at reception and concierge were not the friendliest, professional at best but lacked warmth.

Rooms and Club lounge had no views whatsoever, with a rate approaching nearly USD400 a night, i really do not see the value in staying here.

Great location though, within walking distance to Boston Common Park, Chinatown and some theatres.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is yet another great Ritz Carlton hotel. We stayed in club suite on the 12th floor. The sitting room was large and well appointed and bedroom very comfortable. Breakfast in the club lounge was excellent with a wide choice. Thanks to Blanchelle, Caroline and all the ladies in the club lounge for their help and advice. The location of this hotel is ideal close to the common.
All the staff are wonderful and a special mention to concierge Adriatic for booking 2 amazing restaurants Bricco and del friscos . Boston is an amazing city and the Ritz Carlton a great place to stay. Will return.

Room Tip: Go for a club room. A view of Boston Common is nice but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cehderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have returned to this property repeatedly because, quite simply, you can always expect to receive outstanding service from the staff, excellent food in the restaurant and the rooms are classic Ritz Carlton-- and that's a great thing. It's great location is icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed in a number of Ritz-Carltons and this is definitely among the finest experiences. You'd like to believe that any property under the Ritz banner would be exceptional. Not true (hear that Phoenix and Cleveland?)

This hotel is a half block off Boston Common, basically the perfect location for anything involving restaurants, shopping, theater, sightseeing, and simply relaxing.

The room was elegantly furnished, immaculate and had a great bathroom with separate tub and shower. Our view was nothing special, but to their credit, the hotel management had decked out the rooftop below with gardens. Nice touch.

We stayed on the Club level which I wholeheartedly recommend. They serve continuous presentations of excellent food, beverages (including wine and champagne), and dessert from early morning until 10pm.

The concierge staff in the Club room was outstanding in every way and added tremendously to the experience. Yes, it costs more but it was absolutely worth it.

The property is attached to a huge, bustling health club with pretty much everything you would want. We didn't use it, preferring to run on the excellent routes right outside the door. But in poor weather that gym would be amazing. It was included in our rate.

My only criticism, which I didn't really notice until departure (since we walked everywhere), is how long it takes to get your car. Our wait was almost 30 minutes and it really wasn't that busy in front. I've had worse waits at city hotels but they could probably improve that.

All in all, it was a really tremendous stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: I typically ask for a room away from the elevator. In this hotel, all the rooms are on four floors w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First of all, this is your typical Ritz Carlton and for the most part everything will be as you expect. Friendly kids running the front desk, good food, etc.

Regarding the basic set up, when you walk in to the hotel it is easy to completely miss the check in spot. Its just two desks with one or two people and it looks more like spot for time share promoters. I got checked in quickly after wandering around the lobby looking for a normal front desk.

Second, there is no coffee in the room. How can they not do this. No excuse.

Third. when you leave your room put the "do not disturb sign" on the knob. Otherwise, they will throw away anything that looks at all like trash. Things you may need for your return trip, like coat hangers, empty envelopes, etc. Ive had this happen at other RCs and should have learned my lesson by now.

As for the room, bed, TV etc. everything was up to RC standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Looking to travel out of DC for the weekend, we booked a room at the Ritz using our AMEX Platinum card, taking advantage of the early check in, out, room upgrade and $100 food and beverage credit, and our stay couldn't have been better. The location was fabulous. It was my wife's first visit to Boston and she was pleasantly surprised by how walkable the city was! We walked everywhere on such a beautiful weekend, helped so much by the Ritz' great location right on Boston Common. For those looking for a workout as well, know that the beauuuutiful Sports Club LA in located in the same building. As a member in DC, I couldn't believe the Boston club was even nicer! Anyways, as always the service was fantastic, especially Adriatic, the concierge. Wonderful stay; great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for Park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,354 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $495 - $1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels. The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing