We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Nearby Hotels
$348
$326
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$359
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$301
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$367
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$284
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$288
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
544
172
77
54
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
172
77
54
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelsports clubavery barequinox gymartisan bistrohealth clublobby bardoor manthe theater districtluxury hotelfitness centerfreedom trailnewbury streetconciergedoormancommonschinatown
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 866 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent location, literally across the street from the Boston Common. Great business 'expense' hotel. Luxury hotel with a homey feel. The staff is ultra friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, the hotel is quiet.

Enjoyed the Artisan Bistro found it to be competitively priced, really enjoyed the hardy and very filling hamburger. Room service was fast, server helpful but food was mediocre. Give room service a miss and go to the restaurant.

Top marks for the terry cloth bathrobes and the hotel staff, very helpful front desk. Eric and Ryan especially. Less than ideal, regulating the room temp, either either cold or too warm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This property is in a great location right off the Boston Common. We were staying on the Club Level and, in addition to the lounge, we were provided free internet access and health club access with our room. The fitness center is a state of the art facility and extremely nice, and was easily accessible through the hotel. The concierge was extremely pleasant and, in particular, Ryan, went out of his way to help us even prior to our arrival. The doormen were also very attentive and pleasant. However, these bright spots, were not enough to make up for the poor overall service and quality in the club lounge. The lounge is open until 10:00 p.m., which is very early. Many other properties leave the lounge open all night, at least so you can grab a water, sode, or coffee, and enjoy time with family During our entire four day stay, not one staff member in the lounge asked us our name, or greeted us by name, and we were never able to get any concierge services in the lounge because no one was ever at the desk. Considering the large groups that entered the lounge, it seemed as if guests were bringing friends from the outside the hotel, but no one seemed concerned with this. If the staff had taken the time to know the guest names (and rooms) they would have known that certain individuals did not belong there. Our first impression was that it was extremely small in comparison to the other lounges at their other properties. In fact, there were only 12 tables/seating areas in the entire lounge! We arrived during the lunch presentation, and observed that the soup was totally empty and just sat there empty until the conclusion of lunch. Apparently, this was the norm, as every day when the soup was finished it sat totally empty and was never refilled. We returned for appetizers, and the 12 tables were all filled, and no seats were available. The gentleman working said we could take a plate of food if we wanted. We were not interested in a plate of food, we wanted to sit down and enjpy a glass of wine before leaving for dinner. However, he was at a total loss as to what to do. After standing for 20 minutes, when we finally did get a table we barely were able to enjoy the wine before we had to leave. We went in for breakfast the next morning and, surprise, no seats! So again we waited for a table. The staff didn't seem to care that no tables were available. There were no napkins or silverware out, and again this was a common occurrence during our stay. We were constantly asking for napkins, silverware, and plates, which are things that we shouldn't have to ask about. On a positive note, the breakfast presentation seems to be the most complete, offering eggs, bacon, sausage, muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, etc. At lunch time, once the initial food was gone, it seemed as though they didn't have anything substantial left and sparingly replaced things. At one point, the only sandwiches remaining were peanut butter & jelly and vegetable sandwiches. The desert offerings were the worst we have seen at any property, and not even worth describing. We expect more, and certainly expect a quality similar to other club lounges across the country. The following day was more of the same, with waiting for tables and low quality presentations for lunch, appetizers, and desert. Another observation we made was that often times, even with the small number of tables, the staff left the tables dirty and you had to ask them to clean the tables so you could sit down. Just when we thought things couldn't possibly get any worse, we asked for a glass of chardonnay at lunch time. We were told that there was no chardonnay available. How is this possible in a hotel with room service, a full service restaurant, and a bar downstairs? When we returned for appetizers and asked about a glass of chardonnay we were told that there was none in the hotel, and there wouldn't be any for the night. How is it is possible that a wine that every Ritz club lounge acorss the country has available as an offering is not in stock for a holiday weekend? The hotel does not seem concerned with properly staffing the lounge and maintaining a high level of service. The lounge was way too small for the number of club rooms that were booked during our stay, and it ruined our experience there. We spoke with several of the girls in the lounge who indicated that they had been called from other positions in the hotel (telephone operator and desk clerk) to work there. We expect more from the club level of a Ritz Carlton property and were extremely disappointed. While the rooms were nicely maintained, we woud not recommend spending the additional money for a room with club loung access at this property.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband stayed here on business and I flew in to spend the weekend. We enjoyed the first class treatment and amenities. The staff was very friendly , the upscale restaurant excellent, and, to top it off, it is very close to the Boston Common. This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Recently spent 7 nights at the Ritz for a business trip and had an enjoyable stay. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of. The lobby is inviting and comfortable-a great place to have a drink or two. My only minor complaint would be that I found the walls between the guest rooms to be on the thin side. Thankfully this is not a place that attracts a rowdy crowd so it didn't bother me too much.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank TripNLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel did not meet my expectations whatsoever. Our room was very outdated and not well kept. For a hotel with such a renowned reputation I was expecting much more. Room price was very high in comparsion to other 5 star hotels in the area and next to NOTHING is included in that cost. Valet is $40, Wifi $10 a day, water $6. Employees were friendly when checking in and hotel lobby felt like a good atmosphere, but that did not make up for the poor quality of the room. Can't imagine how this has a 5 star rating. I would suggest staying at the Liberty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews