We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NIce Hotel. CLub Level a bit weaker than many other RC's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Curacao
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“NIce Hotel. CLub Level a bit weaker than many other RC's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

NIce Hotel. Prompt service. Very helpful and on top of it staff. They go the extra mile, and they were all full of smiles and kid friendly. This was my third stay, and is was another great relaxing time.
Easy to get around on foot from the hotel as well, and only minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: club level the way to go always if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colorblind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    147
    58
    41
    7
See reviews for
215
160
14
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I loved this weekend stay. Having been to a few Ritz properties, this one matched up better in terms of service. Guests are always greeted at the door by a bellman and in the lobby by both the concierge and desk staff. The lobby is not huge, but had warm apple cider to keep you warm. We stayed in a suite which was spectacular: high end furnishing, very clean, and roomy. Anything you needed was a quick phone call away: reservations, transportation, etc. We walked through the Boston Common to get to Newbury St.
We valeted out car, but forgot our laptop in the trunk! I went to the lobby and asked if I could go get it. They said no, we'll take care of it. So at 6:30 pm, when the lobby was full of people, I sat to await my computer thinking I better get comfortable. 3 minutes later, "here you go sir" as they handed me my laptop with a smile. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Once again... the crew makes you feel so welcome, making this one of my favorite places to stay! Beginning with the smiles & welcome from Mohammed, Kenny & Adriatic to the continued warmth & service from Elizabeth, Caroline & Danny... great place to stay! My favorite in Boston!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the park are extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Ritz-Carlton's around the world, and there is none just like the Boston Ritz. There is something I can't quite identify, but there is a sparkle about this one and my wife and I feel it every time we stay. Service is flawless, staff is friendly and accommodating without overbearing our time and space. Best hotel in America, simple as that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,750 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked three nights for work at the Ritz-Carlton for myself and customers. The location near the commons was great and short walk in the morning to local shops and coffee. The Concierage was very good and over all service was good.. The hotel overall was just not that nice or exquisite for the price.. An average bar, foyer, rooms, hallways,etc.. So, for the money these areas should have been nicer... Will stay at the Wharf the next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was in a nice location adjacent to the Boston Commons. The staff was courteous and addressed every guest by name. It was almost "overkill" however since the front desk addressed me eight or nine times by name in one brief meeting. Having said this, however, the staff could not have been nicer. The cocktail lounge in the lobby was hospitable and inviting. The room was nice, but not nearly as nice as rooms in other Ritz Carlton's. Overall, this hotel was only slightly better than average and not on par with any other Ritz that we have stayed at in the last decade. My gut feeling is that the hotel is small and not every floor is designated as Ritz space (after the lobby, you ride up a few floors to get to the rooms). It is almost like the hotel is squeezed into a very confined space; it feels narrow and not spacious like one would expect from a Ritz Carlton. We have stayed in Boston numerous times at the Four Seasons and look forward to returning to the Four Seasons on our next trip to New England.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amf660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for one night with a friend before flying back to California. I wish I could have extended my stay. The hotel is wonderful and our suite was warm and well appointed. It was definitely the friendly and accommodating staff at the Ritz however that made our trip. The concierge's recommendation of Oishii Boston for dinner - a must-go for sushi lovers - was just what we were looking for. They also helped out with very early transportation to Logan. We truly appreciated their attention to detail and making us feel like special guests! I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#26 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Address: 10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels.The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing