We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Boston Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Boston Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for a rainy weekend in September, the service was outstanding and we had a great time. I love the location and the Lounge area was really comfortable and well appointed.I plan to stay the next time I am in Boston!

Room Tip: Choose a high-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    123
    52
    31
    7
See reviews for
172
119
14
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have not often been to Boston and my first experience dates back to 1984. I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and enjoyed a magnificent view on the Park, excellent service and a distinguished restaurant ith exellent food. I stayed there also in 1997 or 1998 and it was the same experience.
Thus when I had to go to Boston again I thought that I should not change a winning team.
I was slightly surprised when noticing that the hotel had moved location and the view on the park exists only for the happy few that an afford the suites. But I had the benefit of a lounge which did not exist in the past and which offered a quite enjoyable breakfast and other things during the day. The service was still excellent, but I regret this beautiful vers traditional restaurant of the old hotel, which they replaced by some sort of a coffee shop, which did not tempt me. So I got a room with some view on the park, which was large, but with a somewhat old-fashioned inelegant furtiniture, However the service was speedy and excellent. The prce is rather on the high side, but that seems to be a problem in most major US cities. Boston is almost as expensive as Paris or London.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the park. it will not be the direct vie which was available in the pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvesjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were here for a conference in October. Our room was very comfortable, they didn't have coffee in the room but brought us a coffee maker on request. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The bar is really nice with a lot of comfortable seating areas for socializing with small or large groups. Although it cost $15 to use the gym it was a Sports Club LA and worth it compared to most small hotel gyms. Overall, although I miss the old traditional Ritz, this is a very nice hotel, especially for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Boston Common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am not sure why people have given this Ritz bad reports. i stayed there for 4 nights. From the check in, service, club level. Everything was fabulous.
My flight came in early, My room was give to me fast. The room was very spacious and comfortable but the bose system were not updated for iPads.
The club was very enjoyable. even though they do not have as many selections as other clubs I have been to. They have great personnel. Blanchelle was a spectacular host as well as Brian and Todd. They were there for anything you needed. Overall a great stay.
To top things the have a great sport club center that is free if you stay at the club, it was 4 floors.
Did not cared for the food at artisan. i would not spend my time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltorres93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you want to go back in time when service and amenities meant something, then this is the place. I've stayed here several times over the years and I always enjoy it. A bit pricey but then again sometimes you need to pay to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There probably doesn't need to be another review of the Ritz. It was very nice and friendly. Rooms are a good size for Boston. Good bathroom. Accommodating staff. Perfect location for the Common. Avery St. is a short little street, just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hijeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, well worth the Ritz-Carlton name but it is aging a little bit, I had two rooms and they where at the 12th floor club level, nice clean room but nothing to brag about. Checking was easy and fast even as it wast past midnight, the reception guy was helpful and did get our check in fast. Bell boy and the guy that opens the doors were also very nice. The rooms as I have said were clean and nicely appointed but o. The old fashion hotel style, the bathroom is a lithe uncomfortable but nothing that gets you out of the hotel. Room service I think was the best service that I have received, I had special request for my wife and they did not not say no never, food was good.
Check out was very fast also, no strange charges were made. I did not have the chance to go to the lobby bar, it look really nice and at night it was full of life.
As I said before nice hotel, I would definitely go again after I have tried the other top hotels in Boston.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirius_blk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#39 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels.The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing