We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz-Carlton at Boston Common doesn't get any better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is well situated to maximize a visit to one of the most historic localities in the United States. As one would expect from the name and address, this is a luxury hotel. My wife and I, upon presentation of our credentials, were quickly checked in and following introductions from Tamara at the front desk, accompanied by the friendly Bellman and our luggage to the room. After storing clothes and familiarizing ourselves with the room we partook of the Concierge lounge where Brian, Ryan and Jessica introduced us to the libations and delicious Hors d`oeuvre which were changed almost nightly during the stay. Later, we found the room was elegant and quiet for a relaxing first night as was predicted by Julia, Rooms Executive. Management and staff ensure delivery of every expectation one might have of finer accommodations; from the room, to the food and even beyond the confines of the hotel itself. This traveler made a day trip to New Hampshire but the return trip which could have ended poorly instead became an introduction to Boston’s latest reconfiguration of its street system. Travel maps and GPS systems prove inadequate when subjected to Boston’s one-way streets. Enter Ritz’s Concierge, Adriatic. A cell phone call and it became very apparent Adriatic was totally familiar with the city’s one-way streets. In short order he had us at the front door and in a much happier state of mind. We found that Adriatic and his other half, Andrew were knowledgeable of all the best that Boston has to offer! This is the kind of client-vendor relationship that constantly reinforces this traveler to choose the Ritz-Carlton for hotel accommodations. Mr. Rajesh Khubchaandani, General Manager is to be commended for the courtesies extended by his staff from the doorman to those named in this review.

Room Tip: Alway ask questions, unasked and unanswered questions seldom get the best results. Always ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz Boston over the weekend. First time to stay here as we have been at Boston Harbor and Four Seasons recently. Decided to try the Ritz as I had heard about the legendary "wow" stories. The hotel is nice and it is immaculate. Its not a stunning hotel by any means and is tucked away. Getting a cab is a 20-30 minute process so we typically walked up the street and found one as the valet folks are very busy. I saw the in room advertising Friday night promising unbelievable service ("let us find you a tailor at 5 am ex...). I decided to send out a pair of pants at 9pm Friday night to be laundered but asked that I get them back by 9 am as I had a meeting with someone in the hotel...Yes, they were only pants I had...poor planning on my part... I was absolutely and cheerfully told it was no problem. At 9 am I didn't have the pants. 9:15 someone knocks asking me if I needed laundry picked up...No, I am missing some pants ...9:30...I called and was basically told by the folks in the laundry area that I should get the pants to them earlier if needed them by 9 am. Then they couldn't find them. Then they said it was not their fault and on and on...it was really frustrating. Got the pants, still damp...late for my meeting. I felt horrible for being "that guy", though, and that I put them out so much. I honestly never try and test this service at hotels..But it was really underwhelming too.. I spoke to someone, didn't get his name, at check out and he apologized and said he would not charge me for the pants and "was there anything else he could do"? It just felt awkward and I felt very bad. I won't plan to stay there again...I guess I thought there would be more and I left unhappy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip and it was absolutely lovely. The room I had was HUGE, with a foyer, large bedroom, and spacious bathroom. The hotel bar made for a nice meeting place after work and we often returned there after our dinner arrangements. Staff was extremely courteuous and helpful in arranging transportation. Location was within walking distance to many of the places that we needed to get to so that was also a huge help.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights, the first 2 nights on floor 12 by myself for business- the room was dirty- walls had something all over them as did the furniture, yuck. The bedding and bed skirt had stains on them. They also did not stock the usual lotions etc. I had to ask for them. On my 3rd and 4th night I moved rooms to the 9th floor, my family (husband and 4 kids) joined me. We had connecting rooms which were spotless and well stocked. The check in service and concierge service was fantastic as was the service in the bar. I liked the location right across from the commons and 2 subway entrances nearby. Both traveling alone for business and with the family this location was great. I would stay here again. Only reason I did not give them 5 stars was the first room I had was well below the standards I expect from the Ritz, I think Ritz I think very clean rooms. But the doorman, valet, check in etc were otherwise very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Ritz Carlton Boston Common made a grave mistake in moving from its former, historic quarters in the city's best location to an average facility void of any personality or detail, located on skid row. While the hotel may have park views from above, once one exits its main doors and turns the corner, he is greeted by a grimy block full of shady individuals frequenting the adult bookstore located directly across the street. My travel companion and I felt incredibly unsafe in trying to navigate the surrounding neighborhood after dark, and were accosted by several beggars in the hotel's immediate vicinity. Furthermore, the rooms are lacking proper soundproofing and insulation, resulting in a very noisy situation. I would definitely recommend staying at one of the other luxury hotels located on Boston Common instead, as they are far superior in ambiance, service, location and safety.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRH2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was very happy with my stay, comfy beds, good sized room, but the real winner for me was the gym and the main reason for choosing the hotel. The lap pool was just what I was looking for and didn't disappoint. Add in a running tour of the freedom trail & the excellent glass of malbec in the bar was justly deserved!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My family LOVES the Ritz Carlton . . . the service, decor and atmosphere are second to none. My husband, two boys and myself have stayed at the Ritz in several locations across the country and were surprised to find the day before our trip to Boston that the Ritz Boston does not permit children to use the affiliated pool, with the exception of Sundays. The concierge at the Ritz invited us to walk down the block and use the pool at the Hyatt . . . sooo.... we cancelled our reservation at the Ritz and relocated to the Hyatt. We are hoping that if the pool is good enough for the Ritz to recommend our using it, then we'll be happy overall. In truth however, we are all pretty much down in the dumps about not staying at the Ritz. Has always been THE BEST!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,971 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $515 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels. The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing