We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It all depends on what you want.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“It all depends on what you want.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Think of this as a comfortable, quirky pied-a-terre in a historic an charming residential neighborhood in the heart of Boston, and you can have a wonderful stay. Our room was small and the bathroom simple, but it was bright, airy, well equipped and had a fabulous corner view. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The food in the bistro, including the complimentary hot breakfast, was excellent: it's one of the really good restaurants in Boston. There's a cozy bar downstairs and an open-air balcony on the third floor from which you can enjoy the views. And all of this was within walking distance of most of downtown Boston, half a block from the Common and the Public Garden and four blocks along Charles Street from the subway to Cambridge.

But if you think of this as a full service hotel, or a business hotel, you are going to be disappointed. The room is so small that there's little work space. The friendly and well-intentioned staff in the restaurant are unbelievably, achingly slow. The elevator doesn't go to the top two floors. And you have to walk outdoors, across that charming balcony, to get from one part of the building to the other. There's no in-house valet service, no real unloading zone in front, and you have to park your car yourself in the nearby Common garage. The windows are not double glazed, and the wonderful view of Charles and Chestnut streets comes with a lot of noise.

Bottom line: We were on vacation, and we loved it. We'll probably return. But not if we're on business, or even on a schedule.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    70
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
111
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed for one night prior to a conference. The staff is personable and professional. The food was very good. My room was small, but I expected that and it was fine. The neighborhood is historical and quaint. The hotel is close to the Boston Common. There is a Starbucks and a CVS nearby, but the stores are predominantly boutiques and non-chain cafes, etc. I gave 4 "dots" for sleep quality because the garbage trucks show up on Charles Street in the dead of night, but I am a light sleeper anyway. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed for a week while on course at MIT, hotel is very conviently located in a great location/neighbourhood. Rooms are small, but nice- no bar fridge. Breakfast is include with the room rate and is very good. Bar and bistro have a great decor and were busy all week- seemed quite popular with locals and tourists alike. Common lounge and patio available to guests. Carpet in halls and common areas a little worn/grundgy and some other little maintenance items appear in need of attention, but nothing off-putting on balance. Many great restaurants, pubs and shops in the neighbourhood. In general a great spot for my purposes- and recommend to others who are interested in a small inn like setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyrubbleHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The Common is a very short walk away, and Charles Street itself is particularly interesting. It's an old street in an historic neighborhood where you'll find practical stores for neccessities as well as boutiques and Starbucks. You can park over at the underground lot in the Common after dropping your bags at the hotel--it's on a one way street. The walk from there is short and really pleasant. Breakfast and dinner were served at the long dining room adjacent to the entrance. (Entrance to hotel is also entrance to restaurant.) There is a small bar and a rooftop patio with tables and chairs....a nice place to end the day with a drink from downstairs. This hotel can't be compared to the Westins, Hyatts etc. The neighborhood is fun to explore and practical as well for running, walking, or stopping for coffee. We stayed here as it was close to Mass. General. The rooms are on the small side and there is some street noise. But they are well appointed. Food is very good!! Room guide has a long section on history of neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

My wife & I had a great 4 day stay in this Boston boutique 12 room hotel. The hotel was close to the river for walking/running, close to the trains for getting around to other parts of Boston and close to some great shopping/restaurants on Newbury Street. Don't need a car and it's 15 minutes to the airport. The wine tasting dinner on Monday was very well done with lots of explanations re the wine/food, all for $55 per person. Breakfast was included. The rooms are small and noisy since they're on the street. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room and a pair of earplugs solved the noise issue. For leisure travellers, it's simply location, location, location!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Stayed here with business colleagues. I came late, they came earlier, reported the dinner was excellent. My room, as others have reported, was quite small, with a great deal of street noise. The TV was laughably tiny, and I was nearly scalded by a overly hot shower. The location is great for exploring Boston, but Boston is so small, with good transportation, that you really can stay anywhere. (I used to live there) My room rate included a full breakfast, which was quite good. Overall, while I liked the food and the location, and would eat at the Bistro, I doubt I'd go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Recommended by a co-worker, the Beacon Hill was a great place to stay for work.

I had meetings at MIT which is only one T station away, as well as the Hynes Convention Center (a 20 minute walk through the Commons and the Back Bay neighborhood). The Beacon Hill neighborhood was like a small, quiet village surrounded by the urban jungle. I used the neighborhood pharmacy and post office, as well as the many shops. All were first-rate, friendly, and genuinely a pleasure to be around.

My room was an upper-level corner, with windows on two sides. Not much of a view, but the neighboring brick buildings are charming. The rooftop terrace is easily accessible as well, offering a nice view of the street life below.

As for decor, it could use some updating. The carpet was a bit tatty and could use an appointment with a Rug Doctor--this was true on the stairs as well. The duvet was a sand color with African wildlife print--not what I would expect in Boston, but it was fine. The other fixtures were simple, spare, and well-chosen.

The restaurant is quite good--contemporary French/American bistro fare. The prices are in-line with what I would expect, and there's a heavy focus on locally produced seafood. Waitstaff was wonderful and the bar mixes a nice G&T.

While everything might add up to a perfectly adequate lodging, the staff is really what makes this place shine. Every single person was wonderful--it was like having a concierge at my fingertips. From setting up my reservations online, to my daily interactions with them, the staff of the Beacon Hill is second to none.

When I return to Boston, I most definitely will try to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaxSymbol73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Property: Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing