We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in old Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location in old Boston”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I had a 3 night stay exploring Boston and could not have chosen a better location. The room was small but perfectly formed, and you only really need a comfy bed and bathroom for a city break. The staff were extremely friendly, but always professional. We met some great fellow guests at the bar who were always happy to chat (don't get that in NY!) and the food was excellent - especially the breakfast. The only reason I haven't given full marks (and I woild have given 4.5 if I could have) is that the room was quite noisy - on the corner of the main road (Charles St.) and a side street - perhaps double glazing would be an idea - and so was the a/c. Other than those minor points, perfect!

Room Tip: ask for one away from the main street (not sure if they have any though) or with a quieter a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    73
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
112
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wow, what a hidden gem! This was my first time visiting the East Coast and I am beyond satisfied with my stay at the Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro. It is a superb small hotel in a great location. The staff was fantastic -- helpful with directions and reservations. The rooms were cool and comfortable, even in the humid summer weather! Their room service was quick and very friendly. I spent four days here and have no complaints! I recommend trying their Sunday Brunch too. That's right! Not only are they a fantastic little hotel but they serve top-notch brunch as well (they also serve lunch and dinner). Next time I travel to Boston, I will definitely be returning to BHHB!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friends and I stopped into Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro for lunch on our way to spending a day in the Boston Common. I got the chilled cucumber fennel soup which was the perfect pick since it was a hot day. The soup had such a fresh taste with hints of lemon and dill throughout it. I followed the soup up with their shrimp and arugula salad which was drizzled in a refreshing orange vinaigrette and topped with an avocado puree. Not only did the food feature fresh ingredients but it was delivered to our table in a timely fashion. The staff was also very knowledgeable about the menu items, helping me pick a satisfying meal. The location of the restaurant was perfect, because we were able to walk around the Beacon Hill area after our meal which features tons of cute boutiques. It’s the perfect spot to stop in for a satisfying meal I can’t wait to return to try out their weekend brunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right before moving to Boston, I wanted to spend a weekend in the city learning my way around before having to worry about all of the moving hassles. This hotel was in the most perfect location, and could not have been more accommodating! The staff was so friendly and gave me great recommendations of what to see and do around the city, all of which was just a short walk or subway ride away from the hotel itself. I loved staying here since it is a boutique hotel, I felt like I was almost staying in a home with the adorable decorations and charming atmosphere. I definitely feel like I really got my money's worth. I have to say that the best part of the hotel is its restaurant, The Bistro, that is located right downstairs. I went for both brunch and dinner, and enjoyed every single thing that I got. All of the dishes are so unique; I cannot wait to come back to the restaurant with friends now that I have my own place in Boston. Overall, the hotel was very clean, quite, and quaint, and there even is an adorable little rooftop deck that is perfect for relaxing and taking in the charm of Charles Street. I without a doubt would recommend this hotel to anyone that I know visiting Boston.

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel is unique. All rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location was excellent, not even a block from Boston Common and the Public Gardens. Easy walk to a few different subway stations. It was a beautiful part of town, very charming with brick sidewalks and gas lamps lining the streets. So many beautiful old buildings turned into resturants and shops. We stayed in room 202 which faced the street. Traffic or street noise was not a problem for us during our stay. It was the perfect size for 2 people. I liked that the windows opened and you could get fresh air while looking out into the park. The room and bathroom were updated and clean. There was a rooftop patio which would be a nice place to have a drink or relax and read. We got free breakfast with our stay and it was AMAZING!! This is not your crappy continental breakfast, you order off a menu. It was delicious and well presented. I had the french toast one day and it was yummy!!
Parking is available 1 block away in the Boston Common parking garage for approx $28 per day which is way cheaper than most hotels charge for valet parking.
We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Room 202 is a corner room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waslka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This little place sits at the foot of Beacon Hill area and is classy and quaint. They had a very nice selection of organic foods. Our salad of heritage tomatoes, blue cheese chunks and greens was delicious, but the grass-fed beef hamburger was outstanding; this comes with fries and can easily be split between two people.

The atmosphere is lovely, the food delicious, and the location is right off the public garden: a great place to take a break from the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location was perfect for easy access to many of the subway lines. We appreciated that there were a great number of well reputed restaurants on Charles street alone. Everyday the staff was helpful and friendly, which automatically makes a trip that much more enjoyable. The rooms were on the smaller side, but they made use of the available space very well and they were well maintained. Take advantage of the free breakfast. You won't be sorry! We look forward to visiting soon.

Room Tip: Choose room 305 if possible. Best combination of the bustling action of Charles Street and relaxati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,106 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
2,713 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Property: Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing