We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in July in a king room on the second floor. The hotel is not clean. Upon exiting the elevator the carpets are soiled and the hallways feel rundown. The room felt like a college dorm room - the furnishings were cheap, the bed linens were rough and low quality, the bathroom was small and the shower/tub combination was terrible (bad water pressure and a shower curtain), and the king bed was rock hard. Furthermore although I love Charles Street during the day, it is extremely noisy all night long. We could not get a wink of sleep with constant noise coming from everything from pedestrians below to large trucks zooming down Charles Street into the early hours of the morning. When we left to check out we had to maneuver our suicases around a flood of yellowish/brown water that was pouring down from the ceiling in the hallway into a bucket just outside our room. (The hallway was so narrow that it was amost impossible to move past with a suitcase without getting spalshed). I always opt for boutique hotels over chain hotels; however, this hotel is not even up to motel standards. This is the first truly negative review I have ever written for TripAdvisor. It was that bad.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadelineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel. While our room was small, the space was used as efficiently as possible and we didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was also very nice, as we're the bath products. We stayed on the second floor where there was a lounge, and because the weather was flawless we spent plenty of time on the 3rd floor deck.

Aside from the spaces, the staff was also lovely and ready to help with recommendations, directions, etc.

The breakfast was delicious! The bar was great! The location was perfect! Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillianPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

At this small, 13 room, hotel, the restaurant is the tail that wags the dog. The bistro has an imaginative menu and backs it up in the kitchen. So we rate the restaurant quite high and that's a bonus for staying at this hotel. The rooms (we stayed in the least-expensive room w/queen bed) are fashionably furnished, comfortable in size, with good wifi, and reasonably large bathrooms.
A further bonus is, in good weather, two outside terraces; one on the second and one on the third floor. We would happily return.

Room Tip: Our queen room was on the third floor (302?) and on Charles Street. There was a good bit of noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tayana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were there for a lunch on a Saturday, and the bistro was fairly empty. When we arrived, there were two greeters and one waitress standing at the front desk, and they seemed more interested in staring into space or chatting rather than actually helping us. Finally, one asked if we were there for lunch. The food was delicious. We had gazpacho, which was lightly spicy and excellent. Also a mixed greens salad, which was good, but nothing special. A bagel with creamed cheese and salmon was very good. Our waitress was excellent, but a little frazzled. There were two waitresses, but ours seemed to be waiting on everyone while the other waitress either chatted at the front desk or stood around looking bored. The one really bad item of the bistro is the bathroom. I've been in cleaner bathrooms in gas stations; it really needs a good scrubbing. The very large trash can was overflowing, which seemed odd considering that it was only noon. Overall, I would return for the food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the location was good. The bedroom was fine and functional. We enjoyed the buzzy bar area.
We had mixed experiences of the breakfast. Our first morning was efficient and the food good. The second morning the service was very poor we waited sometime to be served the order came back incorrect and the starter and main course came at the same time. We asked for milk on four separate occasions before we received it. The fruit on both mornings was too soft.
However our biggest criticism would be focussed toward the male receptionist/ manager? At best he could only be regarded as indifferent and uninterested. He seemed to fluctuate in mood,sometimes he could be helpful but in the main cannot be described as friendly and welcoming as we would expect. At both arrival and departure he was very un-commucative.
Otherwise the other staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aacoolj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I had a seven night stay at the Beacon Hill Hotel to bookend a stay on the Cape. The staff were extremely helpful, the bedrooms were spacious, characterful and very clean and the wonderful breakfast easily set you up for a day of strolling around the city. The location is ideal as you are close to Boston Common, Downtown and Back Bay. We would easily recommend anyone visiting Boston to stay at this very well run small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheppane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent just one morning here having a breakfast with colleagues who were also visiting Boston. The breakfast was amazing! Everything you would imagine from a good pancake and maple syrup combination - mixed together with great service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,085 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $222 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing