We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and pretty much perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I had a seven night stay at the Beacon Hill Hotel to bookend a stay on the Cape. The staff were extremely helpful, the bedrooms were spacious, characterful and very clean and the wonderful breakfast easily set you up for a day of strolling around the city. The location is ideal as you are close to Boston Common, Downtown and Back Bay. We would easily recommend anyone visiting Boston to stay at this very well run small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheppane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent just one morning here having a breakfast with colleagues who were also visiting Boston. The breakfast was amazing! Everything you would imagine from a good pancake and maple syrup combination - mixed together with great service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well, let's focus on the postive. Great location on Charles Street for boutique shopping, sighting seeing around the Commons or a beautiful hike up Beacon Hill-a quick cab ride to Copley Square or the North End for Italian fare. Breakfast was wonderful- a real treat each day. The staff was courteous and helpful; the bar was quaint. The upstairs terrace would have been lovely for a rest or a drink if the weather had been cooperative. We would definately stay at this hotel again. Having said that, you must be okay with a small room and bathroom decorated in dormitory style. Rooms facing Charles Street are a bit noisy on the weekends and trash seems to be picked up every morning around 5a.m. I travel with ear plugs and Ambien so no problem. Overall a pretty good value for Boston and seriously, location is everything...

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms that do not face Charles Street but inquire if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Beacon Hill Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, the bedrooms were spacious and very clean and the breakfast set you up for the day. Its location is ideal as you are close to Boston Common and Boston Park and at the other end of the street is the underground station. We would thouroughly recommend anyone visiting Boston to stay at this very well run small hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davies46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My son introduced me to this hotel while he attended Emerson College ('01) and having stayed at others when in town to visit him, once I discovered BHHB, there was no turning back. Love the Euro vibe, the rooms simple but sumptious design, the restaurant for Sunday morning breakfast, and lcation in Beacon Hill--close to the Common and Newbury Street. It is a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbasil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A small boutique hotel located on one of the best streets in Boston for shopping and sight-seeing, The Beacon Hill Hotel is a gem. Though the rooms are on the small side, each of the 13 rooms is tastefully decorated and wonderfully comfortable. The restaurant on the ground floor can get noisy as there is nothing to absorb the sound, but the food is superb and the wine list carefully selected. The breakfast/brunch is one of the best (and most generous) I have had anywhere. Staff can be a bit diffident as they are very busy,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stir-gently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have had the pleasure of dining at the Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro on several occasions and were not disappointed. The atmosphere is romantic and the service impeccable. Always warmly welcomed, even without a reservation on Valentine's evening. We have always gotten the specials, which are unique and beautifully presented. Extensive wine list, and waitstaff always know what to recommend. Water glasses kept full and attentiveness with out being intrusive. We mentioned we had been there previously on New Year's Eve, and received a personal note from the executive chef, a lovely personal touch. Reservations are preferred but we have gone without one and quickly accommodated. Looking forward to returning next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swifty783mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,139 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $201 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing