We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Bostonian Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #72 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Understated Bostonian Elegance”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A small boutique hotel located on one of the best streets in Boston for shopping and sight-seeing, The Beacon Hill Hotel is a gem. Though the rooms are on the small side, each of the 13 rooms is tastefully decorated and wonderfully comfortable. The restaurant on the ground floor can get noisy as there is nothing to absorb the sound, but the food is superb and the wine list carefully selected. The breakfast/brunch is one of the best (and most generous) I have had anywhere. Staff can be a bit diffident as they are very busy,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stir-gently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    70
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
111
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have had the pleasure of dining at the Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro on several occasions and were not disappointed. The atmosphere is romantic and the service impeccable. Always warmly welcomed, even without a reservation on Valentine's evening. We have always gotten the specials, which are unique and beautifully presented. Extensive wine list, and waitstaff always know what to recommend. Water glasses kept full and attentiveness with out being intrusive. We mentioned we had been there previously on New Year's Eve, and received a personal note from the executive chef, a lovely personal touch. Reservations are preferred but we have gone without one and quickly accommodated. Looking forward to returning next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swifty783mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've stayed at the Taj, The W and The Liberty in Boston and wanted something a little more cozy this time, and that's exactly what we got. Excellent service, restaurant and cozy little bar in the lobby. "Max's Room" #201 was small and had some quirks, but comfortable. Big thank you to the front desk who were extremely helpful, pleasant and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
567 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A contemporary and fairly small hotel on a very pleasant street, this seems to have been recently refurbished and certainly scores top marks for location. There are plenty of restaurants near by, although many are of a similar level, and quite a few Italian. Choice is perhaps a little limited if you want something more casual, or just a drink.

Reception staff were all helpful and friendly. Breakfast staff were a little less on the ball, with some really not with it at all. Note also that a 18% service charge for your "free" breakfast will appear on your bill. OK, so it's not a massive amount, but it's not free is it?

On the downside, our room was allegedly a queen, but if this was the case I'd hate to have seen a standard. It was also a little noisy from the street outside with just single glazing. Although it's not a main road, it's still busy enough and by the time the street cleaner has woken you up at 02:00, the recycling guys at 03:00 and the rubbish collectors at 04:00 you start to get a bit fed up. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, or a safe although there was free wi-fi as well as a PC you could use in the guest's lounge. The lounge was right outside our room so I was concerned about potential noise from that, but in the event I didn't see anyone using it.

Prices also seemed a little steep, although I dare say that's par for the course in these parts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel - very nice kerb appeal - in a great location. The staff on reception were both knowledgeable and helpful. My room was a good size and the facilities also good. I was next to the roof terrace and worried it would be noisy but i needn't have been - it was very quiet and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a little noisy - try to get a rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved this hotel. It is our favourite part of Boston - the beautiful and historic Beacon Hill district. Having flown in from London we were tired but had a delightful dinner (albeit pricey) and loved our room. The rooms are not big (as some have mentioned) but ours was a good size and lovely with very comfortable beds. The staff could not have been more helpful - they advised us on sightseeing, restaurants etc. and did all they could to help us. Excellent breakfasts too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I wish I'd read some of these reviews before I stayed at this hotel.I found it very disappointing. It's in a good position, the breakfasts and the staff were nice but the rooms were tiny. My husband and I were on a special holiday for my 60th birthday, touring New England so we thought we would start by staying at an expensive hotel in a good area. What a mistake! The room was tiny, I'm sure it was meant as a single, and it was next to a roof terrace where people could smoke and drink, fortunately it was too wet for that. But we had to wear raincoats each time we went down to breakfast as we had to walk across it. At over $600 inc tax, for 2 nights we expected something better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#31 of 83 in Boston
2,565 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Property: Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing