We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big misses on the (seemingly) small details and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel seemed well appointed enough. Was upgraded for free to a junior suite -- not a bad thing to receive, but the person at the front desk couldn't articulate to me why (fridge, microwave, coffee machine, etc.) it was better. Quick and easy check in. The suite's view was of a parking lot...not particularly scenic..but I was pleased that a Whole Foods was right around the corner. Where it fell apart was in the details, the small touches, and the service. There was no bath mat, so I had to use a hand towel. The electrical outlet, which the hotel-provided hair dryer (which I called ahead to confirm they had) was supposed to plug into, did not work; the "test" button had fallen off the outlet, and the "reset" button was immobile. And, I couldn't move the hair dryer unit, which was anchored to the wall, to use it from a different outlet. A pain for a woman on business who works out every day not to have a way to dry her hair. I was pleased to see that there was a coffee maker in the room, but when I tried to brew a cup, the coffee maker mysteriously shut off in the middle of it, and I couldn't turn it back on. I told the front desk about the outlet and the coffee maker a number of times, but no real resolution/solution was offered other than "I'll send someone up." The housekeeping staff did not replace the coffee maker, which would have been the simpler of the 2 things to fix. Rather, they drained the water that remained in the well of the coffee maker and replaced one of the styrofoam cups. (Funnily enough, they didn't replace a bottle of water, and they didn't straighten the room). The worst of it was that I had run out of business cards and asked a printing company to send new business cards to the hotel. I needed them for a conference, at which I was going to be doing a lot of networking. Late at night, when I got in from a long day at the conference, I did see the message light on the phone blink, but the message button on the phone did not work, and there was no button on the phone to call the front desk directly, and there were no directions for how to reach anyone there (dial "0" for an emergency), so I decided to check with the front desk in the morning. The next day, the message button was no longer blinking, and I stopped by the front desk twice - in the morning and early afternoon - and no mention of my package. I called the front desk when I was already on my way home, waited a long time to get a person on the phone, and when I did, the person told me that they had nothing on their package list for me and she needed to put me on hold, so she could check in the package room where there were "hundreds" of packages. I waited, and after 7 minutes decided to hang up and try later. I called later, and again, it took me a long time to get someone on the phone -- a different person told me that the package was indeed received and that they sent me a message (clearly not received) about it. I asked her to have the package sent to me, and she asked me if I would like to put it on the same credit card, which I used to pay for the room! Needless to say, I was aghast. I told her that the hotel should pick up the cost, but of course, she wasn't authorized to make that call, so she told me to speak with the manager (strange that there wasn't one on during that shift?) who was not going to be in until the following morning.

I'm sorry, folks. Good location and nice enough room, but this stay wasn't even close to being a good experience, and just based on this one, aggravating time, I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaragaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank MandMsAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel was not that clean. The toliet was wobbly and the beds were very uncomfortable. For the price I expected more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Karenmilstead
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband had an early doctors appointment in Boston so we decided to book a hotel close to Mass Eye and Ear and Quincy Market. Location was great! Walking distance to Beacon Hill area where we found a great local place to eat. We had taken our car into Boston so we also picked the Wyndham because it had parking, $42 from check in until 2pm the next day. The room was very nice, with a view of the Charles River. The bed was incredible, we both need somewhat of a firm mattress and was very pleased with it. My only criticism would be that it was very warm in our room and there wasn't anyway of cooling it down, no thermostat or fan, or way to open a window. Also because we were so close to Mass General I was awakened by ambulances in the middle of the night, but I don't blame the hotel for that, I don't know how you could block out that sound. The showers were great and check out wasn't until 12:00. We walked about 10 minutes to get to Quincy Market for lunch and shopping to end our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Charlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#29 of 85 in Boston
1,475 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 85 in Boston
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 85 in Boston
8,135 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill

Address: 5 Blossom St, Boston, MA 02114-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#50 Business Hotel in Boston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $137 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Boston at Beacon Hill, the finest in downtown Boston hotels, is perfectly situated at the base of Beacon Hill, the city's most historic neighborhood. Stay in touch at our Boston airport hotel with complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms. For delicious dining,The Dean's List, a standout option among Beacon Hill restaurants. Host your event or meeting at one of the best hotels in Boston, featuring 5,800 square feet of function space. Enjoy our newly-renovated Beacon Hill hotel's close proximity to attractions and historic sights. Watch the Bruins or the Celtics at TD Banknorth Garden and head to Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market for unique shopping. As one of the most ideally-located of Beacon Hill hotels near TD Banknorth Garden, we are a short walk to the Financial District, and next door to Massachusetts General Hospital and Boston Shriners Hospital. With two MBTA subway stops nearby, the city is easily accessible. Take the Green Line to visit Fenway Park or the Red Line to Harvard Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston At Beacon Hill Hotel Boston
Holiday Inn Beacon Hill
Boston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing