We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“twist on Mexican”
Review of Temazcal Cantina

Temazcal Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Temazcal Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #325 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“twist on Mexican”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I loved the atmosphere. I thought the temperature of the food could have been hotter. My lobster appetizer was a chopped up piece of lobster instead of a whole chunk. It was still tasty though

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crose0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    94
    31
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Food was Horrible Bar tender was nice”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food is very pricey here. The only thing I enjoyed was my sangria. My cousin and i really disliked our meal and even the waiter noticed and had it taken off our bill. I like the fact that you can view the menu on an ipad and i loved the location, also it was very beautiful inside. I did not enjoy my appetizer or my meal. My cousin's food had so much lime and garlic on it that when we took a bite out of it our faces turned red and we needed water right away. I do not think I will ever go back there again unless it is for the brunch. on the Ipad the brunch menu looked really appetizing but then again looks can be deceiving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTJT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not as good the second time around”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

First time, loved it. Great location. Interesting menu. Second time, not nearly as good. The restaurant was very warm and very loud. It's a nice setting, though after it gets dark it's really not all that interesting. The chips and guac are good. The menu is ok. Great desserts for a Mexican restaurant.Definitely get a table on the harbor. The booths are small and not too comfortable. Try it one. Don't go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow. Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my meal in Temazcal. I was impressed to be offered an iPad with the menu on arrival. Not only was the menu there but how the food is prepared and the history of the particular dish. I loved the food and the staff were all very friendly. On a nice evening it is lovely to sit outside by the sea but it is also lovely to look out at the sea from the comfort of the restaurant itself. If I ever return to Boston, this restaurant will definitely be on my list for ameal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank northernstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Cod inmay life”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found this restaurant waiting for highlight of the Boston trip,Dropkick Murpheys concert in Bank of America arena. Walking on the dock we just stepped in.
Food was delishious, restaurant is fancy ( iPad digital menu:)) and stuff is very frendly, talking and attractive:). Prices are friendly too.
One thing I felt a bit strange, but that is maybe standard for US. After we have been finished eating, waitress came with the bill..I felt it a bit strange, as we havent got possibility to order dessert or drinks, as we should go:)..I appologize and I believe that it was misunderstanding, but it gmade me give 4 of 5.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aligator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temazcal Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Temazcal Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing