We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cod inmay life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temazcal Cantina

Temazcal Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Temazcal Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Cod inmay life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found this restaurant waiting for highlight of the Boston trip,Dropkick Murpheys concert in Bank of America arena. Walking on the dock we just stepped in.
Food was delishious, restaurant is fancy ( iPad digital menu:)) and stuff is very frendly, talking and attractive:). Prices are friendly too.
One thing I felt a bit strange, but that is maybe standard for US. After we have been finished eating, waitress came with the bill..I felt it a bit strange, as we havent got possibility to order dessert or drinks, as we should go:)..I appologize and I believe that it was misunderstanding, but it gmade me give 4 of 5.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aligator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    90
    30
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but very pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The margaritas are delicious & strong but also $15+ each. The guacamole and tacos are delicious and fill you up. The whole roasted pig looks delicious but super pricey. Fun crowd - great place for singles to meet singles.

It took 1 hour to sit down & eat - but you could get drinks pretty quickly at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If only the food was good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great location, beautiful decor; our server was very pleasant, helpful and efficient. They use iPads for menus, kind of fun but I could do without. If only the food was good, this would be a great place. Like most other reviewers, we were extremely disappointed with the food. It is very expensive and very bad.
We were excited to sit with such a great view. The beer choices were great and the service was attentive and helpful. The chips and trio of sauces were great. We were ready to enjoy some food and then we got it. The jicama/ orange salad would have been fabulous but it was too salty!!?? What is salt doing in the salad? The fish tacos were ok and the combo plate was just horrible. Can't say that we liked anything on it.
We would stop again but only for drinks and the view.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere, Indifferent Service,Food Absolutely Inedible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped here on our way back from Logan. The weather was gorgeous and, walking past on the wharf, Temazcal looked so inviting that we decided to dine there instead of at Legal Seafood next door.

The design of the restaurant is gorgeous; all soaring spaces, warm lighting and funky touches - even the entryway is fun and enticing. The views over the harbor are absolutely stunning but that's where it ends with this restaurant - it's downhill from there (and it's a long bumpy ride).

Our server was attentive enough to help us figure out how to work the iPad menus (that offer photos along with descriptions of the food) and he quickly took our order but then we never saw him again until he presented the check. In fact most of the staff gave off an attitude which implied that they couldn't be bothered with customers - "whatever."

Drinks were slow in coming but excellent - with a wide selection served in large glasses and very, very tasty! Temazcal drinks get 5 stars.

We decided not to order main courses but just a large selection of appetizers including chips & salsa & a huge bowl of guacamole (which was delicious). Everything else we ordered was either over cooked, deeply fried and greasy or tasteless. We left much of it uneaten, and instead enjoyed the view, sipped our drinks, paid and left. By the time we got home we were all feeling a bit queasy.

When so much effort has been put into the location and design of a restaurant, there is no excuse for the poor service and even less for the inedible food. Shame on Todd Hall for allowing his name and reputation to be associated with a place that serves food as bad as this.

In conclusion, go for the view and the drinks, order guacamole & corn chips then head somewhere - anywhere - else for dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They should be forced to eat their food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

All show, no go. Great view, awesome setting, lots of style, no class. An overpriced Boston tourist trap. Service was passable at best, food was passable at best, not horrible, just bland and completely lacking any wow factor. We paid $97 and felt totally ripped off. We tried the same basic meal at our favorite local Mexican place and paid about $40, and it blew Temazcal away. With all the money they put into the setting, you would think they would have enough left over for a couple of decent chefs. I should have just taken the money out of my wallet, and thrown it away. I would have felt better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temazcal Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Temazcal Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing