We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm in LOVE”

Maria's Pastry Shop
Ranked #6 of 148 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North End
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm in LOVE”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went for the cannoli which was wonderful. BUT I fell in love with their amaretti cookies. I which I could of gotten the recipe from the baker. No secrets were given out though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridesm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    51
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Canoli's”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I really don't know why people go to Mike's. That place is good, but you really have to try the Canoli's at Maria's. It's the best and there is usually no line! Perhaps Mike makes other things better, but if you're looking for the best Canoli, go to Maria's. You won't regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very authentic...great cannolis and cookies. Worth the visit, you feel transported to "Italy"...in Boston.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Makes me wish I lived in Boston”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

They have a delicious, subtly flavored traditional cannoli. I've never had better outside of St. Louis. I also almost cried when I saw their cookies and I was immediately taken back to childhood Christmases when my grandma would always have a mix of Italian cookies out at all times. The cookies were very good but not the very best I've ever had. You can tell they're probably made with shortening instead of butter which does make a difference in the flavor, but they're still better than anything in a store.

There was a very friendly young lady behind the counter and the shop is steps from the Haymarket T.

Helpful?
1 Thank GuideVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The Superior Cannoli!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

In 2008 the Mr. & I discovered Maria's and cannolis. We've spent the last 5 years trying to duplicate the experience. Last week we got our chance during our visit to Boston. We enjoyed several cannolis and they were as fresh and delicious as we remembered! We like the way Maria's cannolis are filled to order and not sitting in a 'display case' waiting for a buyer. Oh, just so you know, for comparison purposes we did try the 'other guy' and while his cannoli was good, Maria's was better!

We also enjoyed Maria's Gelato and petting Cookie the Cat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing