We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Maria's Pastry Shop
Ranked #6 of 148 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North End
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Was just back in Boston yesterday, this place doesn't have the touristy splashiness of the other bakeries, and is the only authentic cannoli and pasticotti I've had in Boston! The service isn't warm and friendly like an Italian business should be, but the place has seasonal, authentic made on site goodies! Also the best sfogliatelle! Bought some for breakfast for next day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isolaitaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    51
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best cannoli”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The place is not that impressive but the pastry is excellent.
We loved the cannoli. So fresh and delicious. They are not pre-prepared the way they are in Mike's. The shells are really crunchy. And the filling is light and creamy. I grew up in an Italian town so I'm fussy. Go to Maria's - you won't be sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank iliketotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cannolis”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had the cannolis and they were really to die for. They filled them just when you order so they are the shell is very crisp and fresh and the filling. You can have pistachios, chocolate or regular ricotta filling. The macaroons were also really good.

At this point, if you are not blind from sugar, grab a cheese pie.

I found the service to be a bit rough but respectful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average food, poor customer service”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The pastries were not bad (ordered a cannoli and a lemon cookie), but what really turned me off from this place was the service. The woman who served us was pretty rude when we asked for suggestions on what to try.

There is not much of a sitting area, it is better to grab something and take it out to go. The displays looked delicious and I wanted to try everything. But like I said, I just wish the customer service was a bit better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlaAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreams come true”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Oh, I was so happy to find delicious and AUTHENTIC cannolis! They don't have many filling varieties, but this is good, cause it is real authentic tastes.

I've been struggling so many times after I had tried cannolis in Italy, and not finding anything close here in US. But I don't give up, and finally at our trip to Boston we were rewarded!

I don't have enough words to express how good Maria's pastries are, one need to try!
Torrones, cannolis, all cookies and pies just heavenly delicious!

As for me, living not in Boston or close, I'm ordering pastries -- just give Maria's a call or send an e-mail. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetEjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing