We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant for lunch or after work”

Barlow's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barlow's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #766 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Cross street: 241 A Street
Transit: Broadway Station on the Red Line or South Station
Boston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for lunch or after work”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I don't get to go here as often as I would like even though I work around the corner. I have gone to Barlow's at least a half a dozen times since it opened. The lunch menu isn't large but offers enough of a selection that everyone in your party should be able to find something they like. My favorite is the Barlow's burger - this tried and true staple has never let me down. If you happen to find the Butternut Squash soup on the special menu - order it. You won't be disappointed. The after work scene is quite busy now that there are more offices in the area. The food is great, the service is great and the location is walk able to public transportation. Parking is the only potential issue I can think of.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillKBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar scene”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Barlows is great! Great Food, Brunch and Drinks. Good place to watch a game and catch up with Friends as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harvey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ugh. Sloooooow”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A slow experience from start to finish. It wasn't that busy for a Saturday evening, which should have been a clue, but our waitress was great at avoidance maneuvers. Drinks took 45 minutes and half came out wrong. Food was hit or miss; some of us liked theirs, others didn't. Desserts took forever too. The waitress blamed a big party, but they came on an hour after we arrived. All in all, a lousy experience. Better choices within walking distances.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

having to drive in to boston in a deluge for a family birthday party did not portend well for the event, but to enter Barlow's changed all that. It has a warm inviting atmosphere, an exciting vibe and the appetizers were just the ticket to turn it all around and make it a great evening. a good selection of micro-brews is on tap and should satisfy the most discerning of brewphile.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverfox53Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
270 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Decent pub food, but nothing all that special”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Title sums it up - ok atmosphere, decent service, good but unremarkable menu and food. I'd go back, but wouldn't seek it out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlow's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barlow's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing