We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of 14 Union Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
14 Union Park
Ranked #18 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelled with my 15 year old daughter so wanted something safe and accessible to amenities.
14 Union Park ticked the boxes and more. We stayed in the blue room sharing a very big and comfortable bed. Amazing bathroom with towels replenished daily. Room very clean and a wonderful view. The house was very quiet and breakfast was sufficient to start the day. Would have been nice to have a small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in the room but otherwise no complaints. a beautiful house in a beautiful area. Unfortunately due to hurricane Sandy had to leave one day early but Devin was really kind and offered to keep our room open if we decided to come back. Would definitely return to number 14.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellycrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 92 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's hard to imagine a nicer setting for a B&B stay in Boston's South End. The B&B is in a block of row houses with a narrow park running down most of the middle of the street. We had a very large room on the third floor with a very modern and spacious bathroom with a glassed-in shower. The only different aspect to us - as we are used to B&B's which have resident inn-keepers - is that while this B&B does have resident inn-keepers, they were often not around and sometimes not even available by phone. That, and the lack of any readily available near-area street map, made it a little harder to get oriented with basic information (although there was a binder in our room that did have very good recommendations as to nearby places to eat). Had there been more attentive inn-keepers on hand, we could probably have avoided having to personaly confront extremely noisy guests one night who were yelling, running up and down stairs etc. A continental breakfast was provided, but after one morning we had our subsequent breakfasts at one of the cafes recommended in the binder because when we went down the second morning it was apparent that the wrapped muffins, bagels etc. were not all that fresh, given that one muffin was covered in mold.

Room Tip: Guest rooms are on the third floor and up and the stairs are ones that twist from floor to floor, me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I loved this B&B! My partner and I arrived early and we thankfully got an early Check-in! Great room, very clean, amazing manager, super friendly, polite and helpful! Everything was perfect except maybe the room temperature (I'm always cold so I might not be the best person to judge that) that seemed very cold to me. Otherwise I would go back there tomorrow of I could! Amazing location, nice neighborhood and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was a nice stay in the 14 Union Street bed and breakfast. We enjoyed the ease of checking in and the beautiful and very comfortable room.
The breakfast was for the price of the B&B not as good as we expected it to be. For us everything necessary was supplied but not more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room but I think all rooms are really good and I can recommend this B6B for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Boston. It's close to everything and nestled in a cozy, charming neighbourhood. I was attending a conference on the waterfront, but wanted to enjoy the essence of Boston rather than another hotel. This was a perfect choice for that. Devin was very attentive and very helpful for some extra requests I had. I would recommend it for a oasis in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been to Boston many times, but this is by far the best. This B&B had just what we needed....access to public transportation, restaurants, a nearby convenience store and a clean place to stay.The breakfast was very basic, but the operator was clear in advance about what to expect so there were no suprises here. We stayed in the yellow room and had a private bathroom. I am very happy with this choice and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaRenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Boston from Thursday thru Monday. We stayed in another B&B closer to Fenway Park the first 2 days of our stay. We were very happy that we chose 14 Union Park for the last 2 days. Devin was very kind and wanted our stay to be as comfortable as possible, and offered an upgrade from our original room to the Blue room. It was immaculate and beautifully decorated. We especially liked the artwork on the walls. The bathroom was so modern and clean. One perk was the heat that came out of the ceiling while showering!!! The B&B was close to many very good restaurants and bars. We even walked to the Prudential center which just took about 15mins. We will stay here again if we ever return.

Room Tip: Blue Room had a lovely room of the park and a very firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roserx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Studios
Chandler Studios
#15 of 37 in Boston
81 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
366 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#6 of 37 in Boston
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Union Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Union Park

Address: 14 Union Park, Boston, MA 02118-3700 (Formerly The Union Park Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $190 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 Union Park 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated townhouse in Boston's South End. All guest rooms have exquisite new private baths. King deluxe rooms are on the third floor and each have in room Nespresso coffee makers. Queen Standard rooms are on the fourth floor and each have bath tubs in addition to stand up shower. There is a kitchenette on the 4th floor shared by all rooms with Keurig coffee maker and refrigerator/freezer containing ice. The Guest House is in a prime central location and a short walk to the silver line, orange line, green line, and Amtrak. Our rooms include air conditioning, hair dryers, ironing boards, iPod dock alarm clocks, wall-mounted flatscreen TVs with cable, plush towels and all the bathroom amenities just in case you forgot something! An "on the go" breakfast of coffee and tea, granola bars, and fresh fruit is offered. The guest house is situated in the heart of "restaurant row" and close to amazing dining options ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Union Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing