We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Union Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Union Park
Ranked #18 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Just returned from spending a delightful few days in Boston and loved the accomodations at Union Park B&B. I could not have selected a better location and the property has been beautifully restored and tastfully decorated. I stayed in room #3 the Yellow Room and my friend was in the upstairs Green Room. Both bathrooms have claw-foot tubs and are perfect for a relaxing bath. In addition the rooms and baths were extremely clean and well equiped with towels, robes and bath products. Although I was sharing the bathroom on my floor it never was an issue. Just down the block on Tremont you will find fabulous restaurants, the local neighborhood market, a wine shop and delightful shopping. Transportion was also perfect with a bus stop just a block and half away which allows you to get anywhere easily. The property is located on such a picturesque street with brownstones lining both sides and a small park in the middle. The trees were just turning and stoops were decorated with pumpkins and potted mums. Definitely beats staying at a standard hotel in the city!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin B, Manager at 14 Union Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Following a year of great feedback we have included an additional bathroom so that each guest room has a private one. Keep the great feedback coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
42
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

The B&B was well located in the South End, close to many restaurants and public transportation. The room was clean and lovely. I stayed in the yellow room- very comfortable bed.
I never had the breakfast during my stay because I was hooked on South End Buttery, a little cafe at the corner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outnabout411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great location in a nice neighbourhood, friendly manager, gorgeous rooms... And all that for a great price!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik_Girardet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the green room 9 nights, with the private bathroom in the hall, the breakfast was so good too. I liked so much this place, is beautiful, clean and with an excellent ubication. We walked to the subway station and there are many places to have dinner.
Definitly, I would come back.

Room Tip: green room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaAndreaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed in a beautiful B&B in the South End-walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We stayed in the Green Room and had our own private bath. The property was very well maintained, modern and convenient. Devin, the property manager, was very helpful and check in/check out was a breeze. Would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenchicago1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin B, Manager at 14 Union Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We are pleased to say that each guest room now comes with a private bathroom following renovations and improvements made over the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I just spent 3 nights here and have a mixed review. It is within a 5 minute walk to Back Bay subway station that gets you anywhere in minutes and a 1 minute walk to Tremont St. which is a nice little neighbourhood for restaurants. The room was great! Very spacious, clean, comfortable, nice TV, A/C was on during the warm spell, breakfast was decent (self serve continental) and the room had a helpful little binder acting as a guide to the neighbourhood, which was important.... read below.

When we showed up, we were greeted right away and told that our room wasn't ready quite yet. We were given a key, allowed to leave our bags inside the front hall and come back in a couple of hours. We took 3 hours and walked around Boston. When we returned, we were really disapointed to find our bags still sitting in the front hall and no one around. Our passports, extra money and all of our clothing was sitting in those bags. Would it have been too much to walk our bags up to our room? Other than the immediate greeting, we did not see a single employee again. Good thing we are self sufficient...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhitbyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin B, Manager at 14 Union Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We know that providing hospitality is our business and we strive to provide and accommodate each guest with a great experience. As a boutique three-room B+B we are unable to staff full-time. However, we have implemented new procedures to move guest luggage to their rooms when they're ready to avoid luggage concerns in the future. We also have stepped up our amenities, property features, bathrooms, breakfast and presence to make each stay an enjoyable one. Great feedback, keep it coming...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great location, we visited Boston for 4 days and just parked our car. We walked everywhere. We found the room to be very clean and with lots of space, the little baskets for the bathrooms was a nice touch, as well as the bathrobes. We were hesitant to take the place at first where we had to share the bathroom but with the little touches it made it so easy. Breakfast was self serve and with lots of nice goodies, we like to keep to ourselves, so this suited us well - love the coffe! Boston is a nice city to visit. The house looked beautiful, I wish I could have visited all the private rooms.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor had an optional single room for a child with adjoining door. Lots of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin B, Manager at 14 Union Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We are pleased to say that we have now renovated and each guest room comes with a private bathroom. Keep the great feedback coming...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#33 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Union Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Union Park

Property: 14 Union Park
Address: 14 Union Park, Boston, MA 02118-3700 (Formerly The Union Park Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 Union Park 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated townhouse in Boston's South End. All guest rooms have exquisite new private baths. King deluxe rooms are on the third floor and each have in room Nespresso coffee makers. Queen Standard rooms are on the fourth floor and each have bath tubs in addition to stand up shower. There is a kitchenette on the 4th floor shared by all rooms with Keurig coffee maker and refrigerator/freezer containing ice. The Guest House is in a prime central location and a short walk to the silver line, orange line, green line, and Amtrak. Our rooms include air conditioning, hair dryers, ironing boards, iPod dock alarm clocks, wall-mounted flatscreen TVs with cable, plush towels and all the bathroom amenities just in case you forgot something! An "on the go" breakfast of coffee and tea, granola bars, and fresh fruit is offered. The guest house is situated in the heart of "restaurant row" and close to amazing dining options ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing