We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty tapas worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tico Boston

Tico Boston
Reserve with OpenTable
Tico Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #415 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: St. James
Transit: Arlington Station is one block from Tico
Description: Tico, Michael Schlow's award-winning venture, located at 222 Berkely St (corner of St James) is casual, fun, inviting, energized and energizing. The restaurant has a personal, somewhat eclectic, "found" feel, with lots of reclaimed wood and unusual pieces. Perfect for friends that want to share cool cocktails, plates of tasty, sometimes spicy food, while listening to great music, in a fast, uncomplicated restaurant that provides knowledgeable, quick, playful service. The restaurant has an open kitchen with 6 stools right on the counter to watch all the action. It also boasts a large bar, dining room for 100, a chef's table, and a lush outdoor courtyard that features a fireplace, dining for 50, as well as some "soft" seating near the fire if guests wish to be outside for a drink or snack.
Droitwich
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We ate here during a trip to Boston. It was a Sunday around 7pm and the place was quiet so the service was excellent with 2 waitresses looking after us. Good menu choice and each dish was really tasty, some spicier than we expected. The meatballs were slightly undercooked so we sent them back and the next set were fine. We like tapas bars and we'd come back to Ticos again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    93
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

No your typical Mexican food place, but it was great…the food was superb, different and fresh…. the service was terrific. We tried the appetizers and drinks at the bar…a must visit if you are in downtown Boston

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lupe92129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Took a quick two day getaway to Boston to see the sights, do some shopping, and enjoy the good food in the city. At the recommendation of the hotel concierge, we took a walk over to Tico, a tapas bar. Things did not start off well when we were seated at one of the few tables in the loud bar area. I mean it was LOUD! We agreed to wait a few minutes for another table and we were accomodated within 15 minutes. Even on the other end of the restaurant the music seemed to be louder than normal - perhaps to cater to the younger, college crowd in the restaurant.
After ordering a bottle of wine from our college-aged server, we waited a full 20 minutes to be told it was out of stock. He recommended another bottle which he said was "similar" to the out-of-stock one we wanted. It was not similar, nor was it what we wanted. The manager did alleviate the situation by comping us a nice bottle that was not on the Tico wine list. I personally believe it was a sample from a salesman, but regardless, the manager was professional and knowledgable of the wines on his list.
We selected four "small plates" as this is a tapas restaurant. The fried manchego cheese was tasty and satisfying as was the shrimp ceviche. The seared tuna was disappointingly small for the price, but not as bad as the Spanish sausage tapas. Small indeed: two half dollar sized slices for $10!
After that, we asked for our bill and went down the street to finish our meal.
I know Boston is a college town, and was not surprised to see the young wait staff. But our server was either new on the job or else indifferent to the needs of those he was supposed to serve. Very disappointing for a highly rated restaurant such as this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tequila lover? Here's your heaven.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great spot near Copley. We met friends for a drink and stayed for hours. Great bar well-stocked with a hundred kinds of Tequila, plus the usual bar brands. Bartender made a perfect martini.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnSturtevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food was good, ambiance brought it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A group of us went to Tico in and we ordered several plates each along with some drinks. All the food was good however, the octopus had no flavor to it, only a disappointing charred taste (grilled it seems). Each of us had something that we thought was the best plate as far as the rest of them. The drinks were great. Service was normal. The music was as loud as a rave in an industrial park and it was early evening on a Sunday with about 15 people in the place. It was pretty ridiculous. I don't think I'd return as the food and drink didn't outweigh the annoyance of the loud music.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tico Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing