We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome spot, great macarons and coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thinking Cup

Thinking Cup
Ranked #1 of 213 Coffee & Tea in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Thinking Cup is pleased to be the first coffee shop in Downtown Boston to serve "Stumptown Coffee" exclusively. Stumptown, originating in Portland Oregon had been named “Best Coffee in the World” by NPR, The New York Times, Food & Wine Magazine, and USA Today. To ensure exceptional quality and freshness we obtain our beans directly from Stumptown’s roasting facility in Brooklyn, New York.Opening its doors in December 2010, Thinking Cup is ideally located just steps from the Boston Common. We are committed to providing the premier coffee experience in Boston by serving only the finest coffees, teas, and freshly baked pastries. Was awarded Best Coffee Shop in Boston by Boston Magazine for 2011.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
363 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome spot, great macarons and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Located near Emerson College, the Thinking Cup offers a variety of coffees, sandwiches, pastries. Its coffee is superb. I ordered latte prepared a by genial barista who was able to craft the drink the way it should be. I like macarons, and they have a good selection, delight and delectable. My only complaint is the crowds and wait. But this coffeehouse looks and feels real with folks working, reading, and talking. Near the Boylston green station, it is a lovely place to spend time with coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Pucela08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    124
    41
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cozy coffee, tea, and pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I only wish the Thinking Cup hadn't become so popular, as it's almost always totally crowded in the afternoon! You may have to wait a bit to get a table, but it's worth it. Delicious pastries, especially the breads (banana bread is my favorite). Nice tea and coffee selection, very rich hot chocolate. A bit pricey. It hits the spot on a cold winter day after being out on the Commons. Try to burrow in during off-hours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great coffe/snack place by the commons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped by here for coffee and snacks by the commons. It seemed packed and we had to wait a little bit to get a table. The prices were a little high, but the food was good. We had a quinoa salad (first time I've seen this anywhere) and a sandwich.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing, and excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It was a great experience! I bought a cappuccino and a raspberry macaroon for around $6, and it was delicious. The barista took his time to draw a heart with the foam, and i didn't feel like my order had been rushed through. I'm going back tomorrow for breakfast because I heard their croissants are delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Margaux V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went here three days in a row for breakfast as it is close to our hotel. The atmosphere was really nice. I liked their choice of music. It was quite relaxing. Food was great as well. I enjoyed my chocolate croissant and breakfast sandwich a lot. Coffee was awesome!! I'm not usually a great fan of coffee, but the latte and mocha I tried brightened my morning! If I'm ever visiting Boston again, I will definitely stop by and grab a coffee!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thinking Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing