We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing Pizza Parlor!”

Italian Express Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the World Famous - Italian Express Pizzeria. Featured on the Food Network's - "Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives" with Guy Fieri. We offer the Best Italian Food, Pizza, Pasta, and Seafood in Boston! All dishes are made-to-order from family recipes that have been passed down for generations. We use only the Finest and Freshest ingredients in all of our meals. Enjoy our delicious food by eat-in, take-out, delivery, and catering. We have a beautiful dining room with lively music and a seasonal outdoor patio. We pride ourselves on serving the "Best Food for the Best Value"! Also, make sure you checkout our extensive Drink Menu that includes: Wine, Beer, Sangria, Martinis, Cocktails, and Cordials. We look forward to serving you soon and becoming your new favorite Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria!
RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasing Pizza Parlor!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After seeing this profiled on DDD, we had to visit and were not disappointed! The food was great, staff very cordial and prices very affordable in tourist town like Boston! The chef owner, Jim, came out to speak to us and that really goes a long way. Try that in a corporate or chain restaurant! The food is made with love and you certainly can taste it! In fact, we tasted it over 2 days since we had so much from leftovers, we brought home the pizzas and had it for dinner the next night! Still as great as the first night! I would totally recommend this place and next time we look forward to trying JIm's handmade canoli's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    95
    36
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not sure if all these others reviews are from the owners friends, because the food was just ok, and the service was overbearing. Maybe they were trying too hard, but the experience was odd and uncomfortable. No plans to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Like visiting Italian friends...who happen to be excellent cooks.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We had Calamari w/ linguine & Fruti di Mari. Both had excellent sauce & pasta. Fresh seafood cooked perfectly and portions for the most ravenous person.

Jim and his staff make you feel as if you're dining with friends...which you are, since you'll want this bunch to be your new best friends! Most of the crowd seemed to be local and were greeted by name as they entered.

We are definitely returning to this jewel of a diner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rexaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tried this place based on other complimentary TA reviews and was not disappointed. 10 min walk from our hotel (Embassy Suites) down residential streets. Arrived around 7pm on a Friday night and got a table right away even though the dining room is very small. Felt like dining with family--staff came up and sat with us until we figured out our order. Answered all our questions and quickly offered to make anything to order (great with fussy kids). I got the Veal Fra Diavolo (very spicy and flavorful). One kid got pizza (loved it) and other the spaghetti and meatballs (raved that meatballs were best he's ever had). Wife also loved her pasta dish. Only thing we didnt car for was the garlic cheese bread. Didnt know that it came with a liberal amount of paprika under the cheese. Interesting flavor but too much for most of us. Oh, and all the entrees were HUGE, as in enough for two or more to share. Dont recommend this place for a romantic dinner. They run a very busy take out business and all the tables are relatively near the front door--could be cold in the winter. Great for a dinner with family or friends. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Homey, friendly service, great food.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

OK ... true confession time ... I've driven by this place a few times but didn't know much about it until I saw it on Diners, driven-ins and dives a few weeks ago!

We had a busy day and suddenly it was nearly 3 and we hadn't had lunch. So we decided it would be a good time to try this place and we were quite happy.

They have a liquor license so beer or wine or a coctail are available. We had a 'skinny pizza' as a shared appetizer. Crispy and yummy.

As for dinner ... all of us went for pasta dishes ... linguine in white clam sauce, chicken parm and chicken marsala. Pasta was perfect, not mushy but not under cooked either. The sauces were lovely and the portions huge. We all brought home enough leftovers for a second meal. And the majority of the main course dishes were under $15.

And prices were very reasonable. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forgotmypword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Express Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Italian Express Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing