We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great oysters, great lobster roll, great atmosphere, worth the price, make reservations”

Island Creek Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
340 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great oysters, great lobster roll, great atmosphere, worth the price, make reservations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've never seen a menu with so many different kinds of oysters. We had one of each of the 10 they offered. They were all good and well shucked. They provide the usual vinegar, cocktail sauce, and horseradish, but they also give you an array of ~5 hot sauces from Tobasco to Cholula.

We also had the lobster roll, which was delicious as were the chips that came with it.

The bread was good, but what set it apart was the special butter.

The clam chowder was a bit salty for our taste, but acceptable. Didn't ruin the excellence of the entire meal.

The atmosphere is really exquisite with its focal point as an entire wall of shells. The decor is modern and elegant, just how I like it.

It is definitely pricey, but it was easily worth it for a nice occasion. You should make reservations if you plan to dine during rush hour. We made a reservation for 5, which seemed fine for a walk-in, but it steadily got busier as the evening went on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redningja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    374
    130
    36
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is always listed as among the best seafood restaurants in Boston, I doubt that is true. If you are into oysters they have many choice but their traditional seafood is unimpressive. There are few choice and the pieces of fish are good it is very bland. Fish requires interesting sauces to make them work, here the fish was presented with out ant sauce. The service was only fair with a number of mistakes in the orders. Boston is a seaport, there are many better seafood restaurants than this one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My Mouth is Watering Thinking about this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everything we ate here was absolutely delicious!! We're considering driving bank from Toronto just to have dinner here. We had the Oysters, Steamed Clams, Salmon Tarter, Oyster Sliders and the Lobster Linguine. The oysters were super fresh and everything else was so delicious and flavorful… even the butter was amazing. The only thing I didn't like was the Clam Chowder as it was extremely salty. The ambiance was very nice for dinner and the service was average but I don’t mind when the food is this wonderful. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Boston seafood institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Forget Legal Seafood ... This is the place for (world best) oysters (Island Creek oysters ICO), New England clam chowder, and this lip smacking dish called lobster roe noodle. There is some dessert offerings but I will happily skip them for the oyster sliders or lobster roll. Not sure about the fish dishes, we didn't have room after a few dozens of oysters!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wansingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We went here for Father's Day brunch and it was amazing. We started with the oysters. Very fresh and nice selection. I liked the island creek oysters. We then had the fried oyster slider. The amount of flavor in that little sandwich was astonishing. We then had the lobster omelet that was very generous with the lobster. The honey butter went great with the dense toast. The only complaint was the mimosa could have had a better quality orange juice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing