We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent once again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
dallas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

In town to visit daughter and got into this creative kitchen that serves numerous seafood variations. The usual cod , salmon, shrimp, lobster and oysters. Each dish is prepared with fresh ingredients in mind. Excellent service when my wife's lobster roll wasn't to her liking they waiter wished it away and a steaming entry was delivered within five minutes. Make reservations and take the lounge sitting if offered for you sit in comfortable high backed chairs with plenty of room.

Helpful?
Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    370
    129
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy and popular with locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I enjoyed our meal as it was absolutely delicious. We went on a Wednesday and it was very busy. Atmosphere was perfect and the cuisine was very good for the price. Only reason why it gets 4 stars from us is that the service was a tad slow. Otherwise it would be perfect.

Helpful?
Thank RnRFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
385 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love oysters so this was a fabulous place to go to with so many oyster options! The salmon tartare was also delicious and I recommend trying that. My one recommendation is to train the servers not to go in between tables. We had a waitress who was waiting on the table next to us, so she kept going between our tables and she didn't realize it but because the tables were so close, her butt kept ending up in our bread basket. Make reservations far in advance if you want to eat here, it's packed and we couldn't get in after 5:30pm, so we were eating a 2nd dinner later that night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lives up to reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our first trip to Boston in years and naturally seafood was on the agenda. We arrived at a rare time that the place wasn't packed (judging by our reservation options) i.e. very early. The place is spacious and the minimalist decor added to a quiet charm. The service was flawless throughout a fine meal. Efficient yet no rush. My wife loved a concoction called Lobster roe noodles which contained a generous chunk of lobster, braised short rib, a piquant sauce containing lobster roe. Sounds like a mish-mash but was actually a toothsome blend with a rather complex sauce. My son and I went the more "down-home" route and slurped a half dozen each of awesomely fresh oysters on the 1/2 shell before I tucked into a large order of exceptional fried clams as he put away a great lobster roll. I prefer the traditional hot Conecticut buttered lobster roll vs the Maine cold one, but he was delighted with the latter-the menu entry. The Boston Cream Pie was as large as it was delicious. The wine by the glass was the way our imbibing went and they served it with distinction-large pours after giving us a sample to accept or reject from the bottle. Most places reserve this courtesy for folks who choose a bottle only...not here. Everyone unfailingly polite. We'll return when we hit town again-count on it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco88
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It lives up to its name. The variety of oysters (and quality) was great and oyster sliders were fabulous! We also ordered lobster toast and lobster roll, both pretty good. The one thing lacking was the service, it took a time to get our food when it wasn't very busy and it took forever to get our check. I would try them again based on food alone, but service would need to improve to be a repeat customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing