We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the most sublime seafood ever”

Island Creek Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,228 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
new city ny
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just the most sublime seafood ever”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want great seafood, go here. Be warned however, the place is loud; it draws a young crowd, so the music is loud. The decor is cool: wire baskets of oyster shells line one whole wall.
I'm the one who suffers from chronic migraines, and to their credit they did offer to lower the music, but from rock concert level down to blasting from the car next to you level? So I had to eat with earplugs in, but OMG was it ever worth it. The very best cod I've ever had in my life. I don't know how they do it, the flavors they combine, but it is heaven. The service is top notch too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    390
    134
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was my husband's first time in Boston and the main thing he wanted to eat were fresh oysters (we are from North Texas so this is exciting for us). Well, this was the perfect spot! Lot's of different varieties available and each one we tried was very fresh. The price point seemed pretty standard for fresh oysters (judging by the other places we ordered them during our trip).

The atmosphere is very nice - casual, yet still upscale, so nothing too intimidating! We ate at the bar before going to a Red Sox game. The bartender was helpful and recommended a really good wine to go with our oysters. We also had some crab sliders and clam chowder and both were also delicious!

We would definitely eat here again next time we are in Boston!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Awesome seafood! Good service! good pricing

Awesome location right in Kenmore square. I had went with the fam and they loved everything. Food was fresh and arrived fast. Was not expensive as I had heard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Oyster”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fresh seafood not just the oysters. but the oysters are delicious. they have 11 types of oyster on the menu, get one of each and try them out. The fish and chips are great, fresh fish. Fry clams are very good also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zhijie John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“#1”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great Atmosphere, Wonderful food, Perfect Location!! I go to Boston frequently and always eat here. The food is consistently good. The lobster is absolutely delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing