We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious and Fresh Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 3,098 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the best places around for seafood ! Excellent food, prices and service. Lovely experience with long time family friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyPiscariello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    338
    116
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poconos
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food in frenetic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We chose to eat here after a Red Sox game based on the excellent reviews. It did not disappoint. It was very crowded and noisy due to the crush of after game, Sat. Night, etc., as well as the dense layout of the very spacious combined dining room bar area. I would not recommend this place for any intimacy or quiet meals. The decor was fun: industrial meets docks meets flea market. With all of that stated, know that the food exceeded our expectations. Embarrassed to say that I have never had raw oysters before, but decided to try them here for obvious reasons. With kind guidance from our waiter we thoroughly enjoyed our virgin raw bar experience. Our party had Haddock, Lobster Roe Pasta & Salmon for our three entrees. All were excellent. The braised short rib pieces, lobster and peas in the pasta were out of this world. We finished up with strawberry donut (very sweet, but interesting), upside down peach cake (dry & disappointing if not for the REALLY good sweet corn ice cream on side), and chocolate cake with black berries (yummy). Wait staff was attentive without bugging us. Music was loud but tunes we loved, so we were happy. Highly recommend if you are in the mood for all that I described.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaxma98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OVERRATED!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been waiting to come here, and we were just let down! Writing the review while we are still sitting at Island Creek. Yes, the oysters were good, but the rest of the menu is an overpriced frozen seafood experience! The absolute worst shrimp I have ever had!...rubbery with no flavor! Boston has many other restaurants with much better seafood!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TBABMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great meal start to finish with super selection of fresh oysters and terrific menu. Staff was excellent!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food is fantastic - I was an oyster virgin so didn't have a clue which to pick but our server was really friendly and helpful and helped us choose our oysters as well as making sure we were happy with them and the rest of our meal. Oysters and the catfish were fresh and tasty. It's got a really relaxed atmosphere and we just had the most amazing night. We couldn't get seated straight away as the restaurant is so popular so the staff took us next door to the cocktail bar while we waited for a table but it only took about 15 minutes. Really happy with our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeySusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing