We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Boston B&B Was Good!”
Review of East Boston B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Boston B&B
Ranked #35 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Early in 2012 my wife and I decided it was time to see the east coast, and in particular New England. Boston was selected as our starting point and hearing horror stories from other travelers about traffic, cars, and expensive parking we decided to look for a B&B near Logan airport and then use public transportation. When we were finished with Boston, we’d then pick up our rental car from Logan and move on.

Our search turned up the East Boston B&B with its 3 reviews. After phoning the owners and some e-mails to work out final details we decided to ignore the two bad reviews and give Don and Joyce a try. We were not disappointed. Their B&B is very close to Logan, and the public transport was within a 10-minute walk. Don is very knowledgeable about transportation in general, and provided some good advice about which lines to ride and the stops closest to the attractions we wanted to see. The B&B itself is very clean, quite and comfortable. Our bed was fabulous; the bathroom very spacious with two sinks and the plumbing fixtures were all of current design and top class.

Breakfasts were cooked to order and very good. Joyce’s omelets kept us going the entire day. You don’t leave her table hungry. Joyce also went out of her way to locate a bottle of limited production bourbon I was looking for thereby saving me a lot of time and effort.

Overall I’d rate our experience being closer to the first review and have concluded the bad reviews have come from a couple of cranks who had an axe to grind and took it out on Don and Joyce.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Regretfully, in April of 2011 we elected to arrange accommodation at the East Boston Bed and Breakfast of 14 Crestway Road East Boston. The reasoning behind such a decision was based on taking advantage of interacting with the owners of the establishment and sharing experiences. To say this was a grave error of judgement on our part does not adequately describe the ramifications of such a decision.

Upon our arrival at the premises it quickly became obvious the proprietors, Joyce and Don were ill suited to be involved in hospitality industry, in particular Joyce. Our original accommodation booking request had not been met. Joyce, without consultation with the guest elected a configuration that best suited her.

The premises did not cater for a suitable common area, the bedrooms were small and cluttered with the proprietors possessions and did not provide the capability for the guest to unpack their suitcases. With the lack of a suitable common area for relaxation the only alternatives were to remain in the bedrooms or leave the premises until such time as fatigue set in warranting we retire for the evening.

The lounge area was overgrown with bric-a-brac and resembled a mausoleum and with the constant invective of don’t touch this; don’t touch that, made the experience less than comforting. The lighting within the establishment was very muted and made accessing the bedrooms via the narrow staircase dangerous. The staircase handrail was also fixed to the wall at the top steps making it difficult to hold on with heavy suitcases.

The final insult came on the second morning of our visit. The toilet adjacent to one of the bedrooms overflowed. The response from Joyce was extreme invective that not only attempted to apportion blame on the occupants for the properties plumbing defects but deteriorated into calling the guests trash, snooping and attempting to steal items from the bedrooms they occupied. Quite obviously, the women in our party were very much distressed at this torrent of abuse. As retirees in our mid sixties we are certainly not prone to acting in manner to offend anyone and realistically expect the same respect and courtesy in the return.

At the time of our visit, unfortunately for us, the Boston Marathon was in progress and our ability to find alternative accommodation was non existent. We battled on for a further 48 hours by not returning to the property until late at night. Due to Joyce’s constant abuse the atmosphere was too uncomfortable for us to take advantage of the breakfast component of what were paying for.

In conclusion, upon our departure, Don apologised for the episode and by way of explanation advised that Joyce suffered from an affliction which causes these outbursts.

The question for the licensing authorities is why a person suffering from such an affliction is permitted to be involved in the hospitality industry. I have already approached the Boston Chamber authorities to make them aware of our experiences.

Our experiences at the East Boston Bed and Breakfast regretfully did cast a shadow over what was a most enjoyable multi city vacation in the U.S.A.

For anyone seeking accommodation in a bed and breakfast in the East Boston area beware of this one..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Accommodation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed three nights and had the worst experience in a B&B ever.
The place is small, cluttered with showpiece italian furniture with a very cold and uncomfortable sitting room.
The stairs leading up to the rooms are dark, narrow and unsafe as the handrail is fastened to the wall at the top of the stairs making it difficult and dangerous to climb with suitcases.
The rooms are small and cluttered with the owners possesions with junk pushed under the bed.
The owners are dysfunctional and as rude as anyone could possibly be.
We were greeted on arrival by Joyce whoo told us that she was cooking some dish for her husband ,Don. It was "crap" (her words) but we were welcome to have some when we returned later on but don't use the crockery use the paper plates. We declined the offer.
The next morning our toilet blocked and overflowed. I managed to turn the tap off and told Don who said he'd fix it later.
The next morning at breakfast Joyce came down and proceeded to to abuse us with profanities, telling us she had to spend the day cleaning up our S..T and how people like us came in and ruined her house and on and on and on.
This lady has serious issues which we probaly should have picked up on when she told us on arrival the Brad Pitt and Liam Neeson amonst other stars were regulars!
Yeah right!
We avoided them by leaving early and returning late until we left.
Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigruss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vin036, Owner at East Boston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

TO ALL GUESTS :

I'm not writting a long review I will keep this short and accurate. Regarding This Guest and the second review dated May 6th. Dreadful was written by a guest who was dirty, filthy. I do not like to write about guests but I find it necessary in this case to respond. They left their room with human waste on the floor it took me several house to clean it but I was not satified with that I called Sears and had them send professional cleaners to clean the entire room and bathroom the same day. How could I rent a room that was not clean it is not how we do business. The biggest issue was that this couple told me it was my job to clean his S__t. I was furious. Our B&B is clean quiet with a great breakfast made to order. Free Logan Airport pick up people that stay with us are treated like family. This couple was traveling the other couple from Austrilia. As for the second review No one from Washngton Stay at our place the review is a lie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

These quirky innkeepers are rather tightlipped with details. Their website quoted one rate & their email quoted a lower rate. Prior to our arrival, I couldn't get a definitive answer so I was skeptical about the cost. No receipt was provided & no rate was quoted upon check-in. After returning home, the CC statement showed we were charged the higher price. I disputed the charge & the innkeepers corrected it without a hassle.

We arrived fairly early Friday morning-- well before standard check-in time. A young couple was enjoying an expansive breakfast at the time. It looked appetizing, but we never got to try it because breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10:30am. We were out the door well before that time both mornings. Instead we were provided large, store bought muffins & access to the fridge. Sodas, milk, juice & coffee were available to prepare ourselves.

Despite the early arrival, they let us check in & leave our things in a room so we could tour Boston. There's limited street parking but they offer complimentary airport pickup as it's located nearby. It's about a 10 minute walk to the nearest T station. It took 30 minutes or so on the subway to get into Boston proper.

Except for directions provided by the husband upon our arrival, we never spoke to the innkeepers or even saw them after check-in. The wife barely acknowledged us because she was preoccupied with other guests & a stray kitten that wandered into the house. This Victorian looking house is decorated somewhat uniquely inside. Regardless, it seemed clean, was comfortable & quiet enough to sleep soundly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc01022014o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Boston B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Boston B&B

Address: 14 Crestway Rd, Boston, MA 02128-1019
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing