We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason it's number 1!”
Review of Deuxave

Deuxave
Reserve with OpenTable
Deuxave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Massachusetts Avenue
Transit: Green Line Hynes Convention center #1 Bus Stop at Commonwealth Ave
Description: Co-Owners Brian Piccini, Executive Chef Christopher Coombs & General Manager/Sommelier Jason Irving are proud of their award winning Restaurant & Bar, Deuxave in the Back Bay. The inspiration behind the restaurant's American Nouveau Cuisine is seasonality, with a focus on working with the finest farms and purveyors, sourcing out the freshest, local ingredients and amplifying their magnificence. The cuisine is strongly rooted in the nouvelle techniques of contemporary French cuisine, married with the splendor of American ingredients in a refined, but casual setting. Deuxave's (pronounced doo-ave) name plays homage to its location at the corners of Commonwealth Ave and Massachusetts Ave.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's number 1!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent service, superior wines and each entrée beautifully presented and prepared. This is what a special restaurant should be. The location on Commonwealth and Massachusetts is superior as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    145
    53
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extraordinary dining experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Some restaurants are worth traveling to and Deuxave is that rare kind. Sitting in a beautiful neighborhood and building, elegantly laid out (like dining in a beautifully furnished wine cellar), wonderful service, long wine list, and food to die for......yes, Deuxave had it all. My lobster gnocchi appetizer, scallops entree, Champagne followed by a Burgundy.....fantastic. The cheese platter for dessert with real honeycomb...dear god, was that good.

Sure, the meal was not cheap, but I thought the value was excellent. I'll definitely be back and I highly recommend Deuxave to those looking for a special occasion restaurant to celebrate, well, anything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere, Excellent food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were in Boston for business and pleasure, finished up the day at Deuxave. Our waitress was sweet and so informative. Not a question was a challenge. The wine list was spectacular. My entre of Salmon was excellent. As a table we shared several desserts all delicious. The atmosphere was beautiful sitting on Commonwealth. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant of our Marriage”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Boston for a professional meeting, and as now is our habit, we compared friends' recommendations with TripAdvisor's. As always, we altered our plans according to the input from TripAdvisor. For Boston, we picked seafood, Italian and French. Deuxave was just down the street from my wife's former junior college and she knew the area well. After 5 years of marriage, a great deal of international and domestic travel and her own superb culinary skills, my wife proclaimed Deuxave's offering the best meal of our wonderful 5 year marriage. The wine selection (with superb assistance) combined perfectly with beautifully prepared beginnings, middle and end. If you have time for one dinner in Boston, make it Deuxave!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and booked through Open table 2 weeks ahead. We were not led downed. The duck was excellent and the foie gras very good. The suggested white wine was not swede enough for the foie gras.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 600Magnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deuxave also viewed

 

Been to Deuxave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing