We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Boston North End, Historical Portrait of a City””

Context Boston Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Museum of Fine Arts Small-Group Tour with Art Historian
Ranked #74 of 142 Tours in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Context organizes scholar-led walking tours of Boston focused on the history, culture, and art of the city. Groups are limited to six people in order to create a dynamic learning environment. With a network of historians, archaeologists, architects, and art historians, Context focuses on thematic walks that uncover Boston for the curious traveler.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Boston North End, Historical Portrait of a City””
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I took the 3 hour tour with our docent Jessica dello Russo. She is from that area of Boston so is very familiar with it. Not only did we get history of Boston but information about the architecture, customs of the time, who important people of the time were (besides those learned about in US History). When asked about places to eat in the North End she took us to a couple and I had time to try some local fare. I do plan on returning to Boston and will take another context tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boston North End, Historical Portrait of a City”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our docent, Dr. Alex Goldberg, easily managed to narrate and explain the truly complex moves of Boston's history in its interdependency with North American history. And - in my imagintion - he drew a vivid picture, which one-by-one became real during the course of the walk. Any questions, be them as unexpected as imaginable, were completely answered. Context Travel offers ambitious tours to keep an eye on, when staying abroad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrHansZebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“See Boston's North End through the eyes of a local”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took a tour of Boston's North End with Context guide Jessica on June 29th. While it's true that Context tours are more expensive than other walking tours we have taken, we feel it is good value for money. Jessica is a local, born and raised in the North End, who is passionate and knowledgeable about the area. We learned so much about the architecture and history of the area, but also about living there today. She pointed out shops and restaurants that made us want to go back and explore. Note that the tours are flexible: it was a hot and muggy day, so halfway through, we popped into a neighbourhood coffee house for some much-needed iced cappuccino and a bathroom break.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Kingstonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Insightful Tour of Boston's North End”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am so glad that I read about Context Travel's walking tours in Arthur Frommer's syndicated newspaper travel column that was carried, in my case, in the travel section of the Palm Beach Post. Dr. Alex Goldfeld was a very personable guide who had the expertise to factually answer any question that came up within our group of seven guests.

During a wonderful, fact-filled trip through Boston's North End, Dr. Goldfeld's expertise perhaps shone through best inside the Old North Church/Christ Church and at Copp's Hill Burying Ground, where he shared his knowledge from heritage and his studies to reveal things that no other casual visitors walked away knowing. At the Old North Church, Dr. Goldfeld explained far more than the docent at the lectern, as part of the price of admission, was able to tell us.

Dr. Goldfeld ably addressed the history and evolution of Boston's North End from its original English inhabitants through the Irish influx and its current role as the Little Italy of Boston, a late heritage that has lasted for the past 100 years.

Personal Magic for Me: Were it not for Dr. Goldfeld's tour, I would have not discovered the Green Dragon Tavern. The oft-written-about Union Oyster House will serve you six shucked oysters for an outrageous $16. Right around the corner, an immediate right turn down the next alley, beckons the Green Dragon Tavern, which also boasts as a place where the Sons of Liberty met. Having a meal in a place where the Sons of LIberty met was an item on my bucket list. Nearly as cool, an entire lobster dinner at the Green Dragon Tavern was only $13.50 with two sides. Adding a gin and tonic, the total tab was around $20... remarkable for a Boston experience.

I look forward to enjoying a Context Tour during future stays in major cities around the world. My next adventure may be in Washington, D.C. where there are three or four possible walking tours available.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sojourning_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent the day on a guided tour of Boston. Very informative and well worth spending the day here. The tour guide did a good job showing us things and explaining them. The only history missing was the Boston Tea Party

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank zr9000x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Context Boston Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Boston Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing