We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but noisy for dinner”

Towne Stove and Spirits
Reserve with OpenTable
Towne Stove and Spirits is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Description: Towne stove and spirits is a warm, welcoming respite in Boston’s bustling Back Bay. It’s a place where all are welcome and the savory scents from our wood-fired rotisserie mix with the hearty sounds of laughter and good conversation. A place where people relax and enjoy steaks to share, lobster done eleven ways and plenty of unexpected culinary surprises from around the globe.It’s a place for special celebrations, power lunches and private parties. A place where our valets take as good care of your car as our servers do of you. It’s a place where life is good. Whether you live in the neighborhood or are visiting the city, our towne is your towne.Conveniently located adjacent to the Hynes Convention Center, towne is open daily for lunch, dinner and Saturday/Sunday brunch.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but noisy for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Beautiful restaurant, but was really hard to talk at dinner because of the crowd at the bar. Wish I would have requested an upstairs table.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    106
    51
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food - atmosphere, not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was kind of concerned when we (party of 4) were seated in the lower bar area - I wasn't crazy about looking at a TV over the bar, and it was noisy. The tables are too small for the plates they use, and the placemats make it tricky to find a place to put your cocktail or wine glass down. The little votive candles don't make much of an impression.

But if you can get past all of that the food is very good. The winter Caesar Salad with tempura anchovy and a fried egg is divine. Entrees of swordfish, salmon, steak and sea bass were all perfectly cooked and well-seasoned. A special request that failed on the sea bass was very quickly corrected. Gluten free lemon cupcakes were very nice, too.

Maybe sitting upstairs (or coming at off hours instead of Saturday night) is the answer, because it was just too noisy for all 4 of us to talk for any length of time - conversations had to be limited to talking to the person closest to you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whorangthatbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overall disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very nice warm atmosphere and pleasant waitress. Unfortunately, the salad appetizers were OK but not great and both of our fish dishes (sole) were not fully cooked. When returned, the waitress was apologetic, but the head waiter was not and nothing was comped on the bill. The woman next to us complained, on the other hand, that her bass was overcooked. Seems like it may be a new chef? Also, the restaurant was fairly loud despite being only about 2/3s full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudson8Northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

At first glance, we thought this would be a very nice restaurant to eat at. The decor is very nice and the menu seemed interesting. However, the food is quite expensive and you have to pay for any sides that you want. This is not a restaurant for picky eaters! I would have been able to forgive the price if it had been a good meal. I ordered the steak and it was not a good quality steak. For that price, I expect a steak that you can almost cut with a fork, not something that you have to saw through with a steak knife. Other people in my group ordered the ridiculously expensive prime rib and it came cold. The staff were very pleasant and did take it back to reheat it, but there was no reduction in price or anything done to compensate for the cold meat. I would say save your money and skip this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassafrass_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious pre "Pops" dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family went to Towne before a recent Boston Christmas Pops show and the experience was very good all around. Our party enjoyed the new york strip, a monkfish special, the peking style duck, and the steak arrabiata. The duck (my wife remarked one of the best prepared ducks she has ever had) and the monkfish were fantastic, while the steaks were very good and prepared as ordered. Our server was attentive and made good drink and food recommendations. Drinks were also delicious with a decent wine by the glass selection. The wine list itself is pricey for the offerings. The atmosphere is sophisticated but a tad dark downstairs. It is expensive but for the experience and the location it is a great choice for a nice dinner out. We will be back to sample more of the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dupetersentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Towne Stove and Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Towne Stove and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing