We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Ghost Tour”

Haunted Boston Ghost Tours
Ranked #30 of 139 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Not a Ghost Tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This tour should really rebrand itself. I went on the tour in October, although our guide was pleasant, there was very little as far as ghost stories. We also didn't spend any time in cemeteries or crypts. The closest we got was standing outside the locked gate of a cemetery -- personally, I would pick a different tour, even if the price was steeper. This is more of a historical tour, and I wasn't really impressed even at that.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    40
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good mix of creepy and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went on the tour. A crowd of about 20. Jeff was entertaining and engaged the audience. The stories were good not too scary and all based in fact. My teenage daughters enjoyed it. We have taken toyrs in other cities and it was nice to finally do one close to home. I recommend it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ello4977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fun, learned a lot, kids were interested.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Took the tour with Darren, 8:00pm to 10pm. Worth every penny. Darren kept my kids intrigued. It was a well-rounded tour of Boston history, murders and mayhem, politics, skullduggery, a little CSI, and i felt very connected to the city after hearing the stories, especially Edgar Allan Poe's connection to Boston. Seeing rats in the graveyard made the day for the kids. Don't miss this tour. And tip your guide: they work hard to make your trip a memorable one!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoDaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went on an 8:30 walking tour on a recent family vacation to Boston. Lots of interesting facts and lore, and the tour guide (Jeff) was very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that it was a walking tour rather than the other available tour, which is done via trolley. The only criticism I have is that his style needs a little work; at times he seemed distracted and didn't hold our full attention. He admitted that he was called at the last minute, because the 8:00 tour was sold out; I think with more practice and some "polishing", he could be excellent. Overall, I would recommend this attraction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WishICouldSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very engaging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hour and a half tour was led by Jeff whose is obviously passionate about engaging his audience and story telling. The tour includes five sites in Boston Common and two more near by. Jeff encourage photography during the tour (hoping to capture paranormal activity) and recounted his own experiences that gave the tour a personal feel.

Very entertaining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haunted Boston Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing